We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem by Supermarket”
Review of Restaurant Trio - CLOSED

Restaurant Trio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$17
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem by Supermarket”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A waiter at our hotel recommended this restaurant, and we were thrilled we went! The food and drinks were all amazing, but the service really made our experience wonderful. The waiter recommended drinks and meals, and we were not disappointed. We were fortunate (and surprised) to be the only people in the restaurant, so we had a lovely conversation with the chef about his training, local foods, and his vision for the restaurant, which was featuring a new menu the following night! We were hoping to revisit the restaurant the next night, but didn't have the opportunity; if I am in Monteverde again, I will definitely return! I look forward to seeing how David (the chef and fairly new owner) brings his vision to fruition. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LimaBean1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    88
    26
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having just arrived in town via the dusty road, we happened upon this unassuming restaurant fronted by a construction ditch and next to a supermarket. Having no expectations, we were amazed at the incredibly creative farm to table creations by this very talented chef. Don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinkbug28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A definite cut above”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have been raving about David and his wonderful restaurant ever since we came across Trio in June. Located beside the supermarket, we were skeptical when we walked up the stairs, but upon crossing into the warm atmosphere, we were already enthralled. Nice music, a warm smile, and clean, clear lines made us feel at home. This is not your typical rice and beans restaurant, but as the chef/owner explained to us, one can still find adaptations of Costa Rican cuisine. We dined on fresh ingredients under an attentive eye. My salad - caramelized fig and roasted mango - may have been the top of my life. The sous-vide meats were done to perfection.
We are so glad to have ignored the recommendation of our B&B owner and gone for Trio instead. We could easily see David, who has trained outside of Costa Rica, preparing his treats in a cosmopolitan city. His recipes will soon be online, and I will be looking for them.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicous!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The ingredients were fresh, all local! The flavors were distinctive. The chef and waiter very friendly. The location is central but not in the glare. You will not regret eating here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenYogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latchmont
1 review
“Amazing food and service, honoring local products”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The restaurant was recommended by our hotel, amongst others but we didn't expect such am amazing place. The food was excellent, plates were presented very nicely. Meat was perfectly cooked. All products where local. Last but not least, service was excellent, full of attention., passion and smile.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PATY_brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Trio also viewed

 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing