We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place In Costa Rica....Stay Here if In Monteverde Area”
Review of Cabinas Eddy B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Place In Costa Rica....Stay Here if In Monteverde Area”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Seriously this was the best place we stayed at in Costa Rica. The actual hotel isn't amazing-it's nice and clean but not anything great -but the service by Freddy and his family was hands down the best and i would recommend this place to anyone. Do not stay anywhere else if you're in the area and I promise you won't be disappointed.

The rooms were spacious, clean, and safe. It's a great location right down the hill from the main street with all the restaurants and the store. It's also located right next to the bus stop so you just walk out the front door and you're there. They have a little communal area with amenities (kitchen, tv, computers, internet, books, etc) which was nice. There was a mix of older people and younger so good for being social but it's also quiet. Warm water, but no A/C (which doesn't really matter since it's cooler in Monteverde)

And once again i cannot express how great Freddy and his family was. Freddy gave us awesome advice and seemed genuinely interested in helping us have a good time as opposed to making money. He booked tours for us at the best prices (we did our research). He even got up early both mornings and made us breakfast. He was extremely knowledgeable about the area and went out of his way to help. STAY HERE :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    80
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
209
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Wow, this place was incredible! What made it incredible was Freddy, the owner (Well his family owns it). He cares about all his guests and goes a long way to show it! My mom and I stayed in a private room with our own bathroom and paid a very reasonable amount, with breakfast included. Their family is always on the grounds and helps Freddy run the place which gives this place it's charm. We were here during the big earthquake on Sept 5. 2012 and Freddy went out of his way to contact all the guests who had left that morning to make sure they were ok. One guest was caught in a landslide and they were terrified so Freddy made arrangements for them since they couldn't get to where they were going. I don't know many hotel owners who would look after you once you left the door. He made sure everything was good for us! The morning we left we had to wake up at 5 am and would have missed breakfast, but Freddy brought us a very nice breakfast the night before to keep in our fridge. I highly highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrejka08675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Cabinas Eddy hits the mark on EVERYTHING! We just left there after spending 5 nights and we had to tear ourselves away.

Where to begin? Let's go by Trip Advisors List

Service: Ask, and it shall be yours. Eddy and his family are extremely accommodating. They'll go over and above by knocking on your door to tell you about the sloth in the tree outside and you'll thank them for it.

Value: At $25/ night for our private room with a shared bathroom that included the most delicious breakfast I've had in 6 weeks I'd say that Eddy's is a VERY good deal.

Sleep Quality: They have a quiet after 9pm policy which we appreciated, as we aren't the party types and generally turn in early. (But it still has a nice social vibe in the mornings, afternoons and evenings with free coffee and tea available in the downstairs social area.) The mattresses are some mix of magic and miracle my humble brain can barely comprehend. First of all, CLEAN mattress and sheets and good pillow quality. That I can understand. But how do you make a bed thats firm enough not to cause back aches while also soft enough to perfectly mold to your body? I don't know what supernatural and/or science it takes to make this happen. But happen it did. The only thing better than that bed, was my own bed. Actually no, I think that bed was better.

Cleanliness: The bathrooms are scrubbed everyday with so much vigor that I would literally eat off the shower floor. No flip-flops needed here. They'll also clean your room and give you new towels, although we kept up our Do Not Disturb sign because we prefer our privacy. And they respected that. The entire place sparkled.

Location: A 3 minute walk from the center of town, means a little more quiet but easy access. We also felt safe walking at night.

Rooms: I talked up the bed already, so make note of a big ole' mirror and side table. Some of the other rooms I saw had a desk or mini-fridge. Some rooms are interior and a little dark for my taste, but plenty of rooms (like ours) have HUGE windows facing east (lots of morning sun-which we also like). There is a shared balcony outside these rooms, so you have to close your curtains while getting dressed, and what not, but we didn't mind that at all. Not a cobweb or dust mote to be found ANYWHERE in the room.

Other Notes:

No pool or fitness center but a nice little social area with TV, small book exchange, and free tea and coffee. You can use their kitchen, which is nice.

And let me note, one more time, that the breakfast is amazing. A nice little plate of fruit each morning (banana, pineapple, papaya, watermelon, and lime) and your choice of eggs and toast, a DELICIOUS egg wrap, and the best of all banana pancakes with homemade coconut infused syrup. If you're a really big dude, you MIGHT want bigger portions, but they were perfect for us, and I doubt Freddy would hesitate for a second if you nicely asked for more.

The family that runs Eddys are just incredibly nice and everyone pitches in. Freddy can help you with any of the tours you may be interested in (and he saved us $5 on our Extremo zip-lining tour--which was freakin' awesome) But he's also happy to show you what you can do around Santa Elena for free.

I hope you choose Eddys. I'm sure you'll love it.

Room Tip: Room 6 (our room) is REALLY bright with loads of early morning sun. Rooms upstairs have more privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thriftydrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Freddy the oner and his famly are very good people, they will help you with all question. The please is very clean and feels like home. A very nice breakfast is included in the price. It os very close to center of town

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drord9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We spent 4 lovely days here and loved everything about the place and the owners.
The room we had was upstairs, with a balcony and a great view.
The bed was super-comfy, the bathroom was good as well, we only wished for a slightly hotter shower...you need it here!
Breakfast was delicious, especially the banana pancakes with coconut syrup.
There is also a well equipped kitchen for guests and a supermarket up the road.
Freddy is very helpful and very well organized...Really hard-working guy!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs, facing the long balcony are brighter and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeez4475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Freddy and his family run a warm and friendly hostel. The room in the second floor has a magnificent view. Freddy goes out of his way to make life easier for the people staying there. He help us buy bus tickets when we couldn't make it in time. He also woke up at 5:30 to make breakfast for us when we had to depart early. Excellent can't even describe his hospitality. He also gives discount in zipline and other tours. Wished we could stayed there more!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Freddy and his family were so helpful and nice!
The room was nice and the location was good! We booked a zip line tour through them and got a $10 discount per person. We wanted to see the fig trees that you can climb and Freddy took the time to take us there and show us around. Before we left he even helped us find other neat places to visit in Costa Rica. Wonderful people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingyCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 33 in Santa Elena
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Eddy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Eddy B&B

Property: Cabinas Eddy B&B
Address: Located 150 Meters South West From Downtown, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Eddy B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Eddy B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Eddy B&B Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing