We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation, great host!”
Review of Cabinas Eddy B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Cabinas Eddy was the best place we stayed at in Costa Rica. The room was a good size, comfortable, clean, well-furnished and walking distance to shops and restaurants. The owner was friendly, helpful and cooked amazing breakfasts! He also spent time talking to us about the area and was working hard even over Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akakakak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived a bit stressed after the 40k drive from La Fortuna took 2 hours (as expected, but still nerve rattling, literally). Freddy immediately booked us a night rain forest tour, and we got 45 min to relax and unpack, which was outstanding. The tour was ok. We didn't see mammals, which would have been ok if the guide would have been more knowledgable. We were a bit disappointed, given the price. Upon our return to Eddys, Freddy asked our feedback and we were honest.


Breakfast was made to order and incredible. Freddy gave us advice on a free attraction (the ficus trees) and the best time and way to see the cloud forest.

When we went to pay, the rate for the night tour was reduced, I assume, based on our feedback. In a town that caters to tourists, and when you get the feeling that the tour operators and the hotel/hostel owners are only looking out for themselves, Freddy at Eddys wants you, the visitor, to have the best time and value in Monteverde. He even let us store our bags for free. I couldn't recommend this place more, especially for budget-conscious independent travelers.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Eddy and his family were very accomodating at his place. He was also very helpful when we needed to ask any questions or to book any activities.

It is a great place to situate yourself as it is just across the road from the bus station where you can catch the bus to the Cloud forest and surrounding areas.

This place felt very safe, rooms were quite basic but there was a comfy bed, running hot water, complimentary coffee and a superb breakfast, the communal kitchen was very well equipped and the supermarket was within walking distance so perfect for those happy to make their own food.
Would totally recommend this place to anyone hoping to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 81LucindaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Cabinas Eddy for three nights on our way from Arenal. Place itself looks more like a hostel but in a good way. There is such a friendly and relaxed atmosphere in there. We got a private room with bathroom next to a common patio with two hammocks. Room itself is simple but has everything you need. Ours didn't have a window and that was the only drawback, but you don't stay in there much anyway. Coffee and tea was available all day long which is so unique and great. Breakfast was one of the best breakfasts we had in Costa Rica. Also we were leaving very early to go to Nicaragua and Eddie got up early to make sure we have breakfast before we go. Then he organised us and another couple a taxi to go to the bus station. Best host ever! Eddie and other staff were very knowledgeable about all tours and you also get a discount and can pay for everything at the checkout which is handy. Place is very close to Santa Elena downtown, away from the street noise. Easy, friendly, great value with best hosts ever, highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MINIPolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

It really felt like a hotel. There was a queen bed and a bunk bed in our room, and we all shared a bathroom. There was more than enough room, and it was very clean. I looked around at the other rooms too, and they were all beautiful. Fantastic location, convenient to Santa Elena and Monteverde. There's a supermarket just one block away if you need anything as well. They also serve a great breakfast and gave great recommendations on things to do.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntnrx719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed there with a friend for four nights earlier this month. It was a great family environment. The room was very good, cleaned on a daily basis, it was quiet and the water was hot. The banana pancakes with coconut sauce were the best. Tours were booked for us with no issues, information given when needed and when we wanted an early breakfast on two days as we were going hiking this was no problem. The staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs, they were polite and friendly and very helpful. It is in a central location and it is excellent value.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A great place to stay at when you visit Monteverde. Gaudy was extremely nice, gave us info about the tours available and booked us on them instantly. The room was large and clean and the breakfast the next day was nice too!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 33 in Santa Elena
715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Rainbow Valley Lodge
#2 of 33 in Santa Elena
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabanas La Pradera
Cabanas La Pradera
#8 of 75 in Monteverde
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Eddy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Eddy B&B

Address: Located 150 Meters South West From Downtown, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: £29 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Eddy B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabinas Eddy B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Eddy B&B Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing