We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The owner is great!”
Review of Cabinas Eddy B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The owner is great!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This place is located at walking distance from Santa Elena (you only have to go up the hill). We had the room for 30 dollar, including breakfast. Rooms are basic, but ok. What makes this place special is the owner, the best I ever had. He runs the place like you should run a B&B. Give a lot of advise, very open about trips you should avoid. He gave us the advice to do the Xtreme Canopy and Coffee 'N Night tour.. Well, both were amazing. Besides that, he woke up at 5:00 in the morning to make us a delicious breakfast and bring us to the busstop with his car.
And if that's not all, his dad gives you a good haircut for a couple of bucks if you want.
Thanks Eddy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    80
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
208
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at this nice and central located B&B. The owner is super friendly and helpful, you feel yourself there really fine, like at home. The rooms are nice and clean and the breakfast is so good. If you have questions about activities provided in Monteverde, just ask, the owner will help you find your desired one.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Cabinas Eddy was the best place we stayed at in Costa Rica. The room was a good size, comfortable, clean, well-furnished and walking distance to shops and restaurants. The owner was friendly, helpful and cooked amazing breakfasts! He also spent time talking to us about the area and was working hard even over Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akakakak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived a bit stressed after the 40k drive from La Fortuna took 2 hours (as expected, but still nerve rattling, literally). Freddy immediately booked us a night rain forest tour, and we got 45 min to relax and unpack, which was outstanding. The tour was ok. We didn't see mammals, which would have been ok if the guide would have been more knowledgable. We were a bit disappointed, given the price. Upon our return to Eddys, Freddy asked our feedback and we were honest.


Breakfast was made to order and incredible. Freddy gave us advice on a free attraction (the ficus trees) and the best time and way to see the cloud forest.

When we went to pay, the rate for the night tour was reduced, I assume, based on our feedback. In a town that caters to tourists, and when you get the feeling that the tour operators and the hotel/hostel owners are only looking out for themselves, Freddy at Eddys wants you, the visitor, to have the best time and value in Monteverde. He even let us store our bags for free. I couldn't recommend this place more, especially for budget-conscious independent travelers.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Eddy and his family were very accomodating at his place. He was also very helpful when we needed to ask any questions or to book any activities.

It is a great place to situate yourself as it is just across the road from the bus station where you can catch the bus to the Cloud forest and surrounding areas.

This place felt very safe, rooms were quite basic but there was a comfy bed, running hot water, complimentary coffee and a superb breakfast, the communal kitchen was very well equipped and the supermarket was within walking distance so perfect for those happy to make their own food.
Would totally recommend this place to anyone hoping to stay in this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 81LucindaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Cabinas Eddy for three nights on our way from Arenal. Place itself looks more like a hostel but in a good way. There is such a friendly and relaxed atmosphere in there. We got a private room with bathroom next to a common patio with two hammocks. Room itself is simple but has everything you need. Ours didn't have a window and that was the only drawback, but you don't stay in there much anyway. Coffee and tea was available all day long which is so unique and great. Breakfast was one of the best breakfasts we had in Costa Rica. Also we were leaving very early to go to Nicaragua and Eddie got up early to make sure we have breakfast before we go. Then he organised us and another couple a taxi to go to the bus station. Best host ever! Eddie and other staff were very knowledgeable about all tours and you also get a discount and can pay for everything at the checkout which is handy. Place is very close to Santa Elena downtown, away from the street noise. Easy, friendly, great value with best hosts ever, highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MINIPolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

It really felt like a hotel. There was a queen bed and a bunk bed in our room, and we all shared a bathroom. There was more than enough room, and it was very clean. I looked around at the other rooms too, and they were all beautiful. Fantastic location, convenient to Santa Elena and Monteverde. There's a supermarket just one block away if you need anything as well. They also serve a great breakfast and gave great recommendations on things to do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntnrx719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 35 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Eddy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Eddy B&B

Property: Cabinas Eddy B&B
Address: Located 150 Meters South West From Downtown, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Eddy B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabinas Eddy B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Eddy B&B Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing