We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay to visit MonteVerde”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Place to stay to visit MonteVerde”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The Mar Inn is just outside of the town center in Santa Elena. Not hard to find but a little bit of a hike up a steep road if you mean to walk there from the centro(but ALL hotels are up a steep hill in this area). The highlight of this hotel are the owners. They are super nice and incredibly helpful in getting you to where you want to go. They arrange everything for you from your ticket to your taxi (which are not a reasonably priced as the hotel is). The rooms are wood paneled and clean and there is a shared balcony with HUGE rocking chairs. Hot water is plentiful. Breakfast is included and quite good. Cooked for you by the owner right downstairs. This is a great base of exploration for the MonteVerde area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somewhereibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    69
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
100
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol-UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Santa Elena is lovely, fairly low key. Mar Inn is a great bed and breakfast, run by a lovely family who could not be more helpful. My stay there was really pleasant, from waking up the first morning to the amazing view from the balcony to the helpfulness of the owners.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShowMeSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed at the Mar Inn for 5 nights while on a trip with Global Volunteers. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the shower was nice and hot. The hotel is located right on the edge of Santa Elena so it was a very convenient 5 minute walk into town, which we did every day for ice cream.

Far and away, the best part about the Mar Inn is the owners, Giovanny and Zelmira. I was traveling with four kids, ages 8 to 14, and they went out of their way to take care of us. My oldest was sick with a stomach bug one day, and stayed behind while we went off to work. They kept an eye on him and gave us a report when we called in. The two of them also became special friends with my third son, who would get up early to help set the table for breakfast (how did they get him to do that?). Our family had some dietary restrictions and Zelmira even made special pancakes for us. Because we were traveling with a volunteer group, we also had dinners there, which were equally specially prepared and always delicious.

At the end of our week, we found ourselves with extra time, and Giovanny went out of his way to make activity reservations as well as a reservation at another hotel! (We just wanted to move up into the cloud forest). He took care of everything. On our last night, they presented each member of my family with a special piece of jewelry that had been handmade. My kids have not taken them off yet. My third son was in tears when it was time to leave, and in fact insisted we stop by again on our way back to San Jose so we could say goodbye one last time. They were genuinely excited to see us. I have traveled all over the world and have never stayed someplace where my family was so welcomed and comfortable. If we are able to get back to the area, which is stunningly beautiful, I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4adventurekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

This is my second visit to the Mar-Inn Bed & Breakfast in the last year. Somehow, the warm and personal Marin family continue to improve their already charming and comfortable inn. The rooms are first rate, Zelmira's food is "tipica" a la gourmet ,and the owners can arrange for any and every need the visitor might conceive of. In the scenic mounain town of Santa Elena there are a plethora of hotels but the Mar-Inn is the very best for the money and the personal relationships with the owner/family if priceless.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This place was a gem. It was a wonderful location-above the town of Santa Elena. It was far enough away to be quiet for a good night's sleep, but close enough to all the happenings that Santa Elena and Monteverde have to offer. The family was warm and inviting. The breakfast was just wonderful and the value was amazing. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in the area. I wish we had stayed there more than just the one night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coriander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

The room was ok, but not really cleaned every day. We had a dead cockroach laying there for 2 days. The beds were clean and warm enough, A/C isn't needed up there. Also the owners were very helpful in organising tours. Sadly, the breakfast not as great as we had expected it from other reviews and guide books: A small pot of coffee or tea with milk, some scrambled egg, 2 slices of toast with jam and butter and 6 small pieces of mixed fruits. WiFi worked pretty fast.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortvonfrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Geovanny and Zelmira have hosted our Global Volunteers teams for the past two months. We couldn't ask for more flexibility to accommodate our guests and help them feel at home. Her cooking has earned rave reviews and avoids having to go to a restaurant.
The hotel is a short walking distance from downtown Sta.Elena and doesn't get the downtown noise.
Today Valentine's Day, they even had a rose and candy for everyone! Love them! Don't come to this hotel we want them all to ourselves!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.4 mi away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#10 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle 8, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at just 5min from Santa Elena downtown, Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast is your best choice to discover Monteverde. Managed by a local family, Mar Inn offers a warm and personalized service that will make every guest feel at home. The hotel offers a wonderful view to the Gulf of Nicoya, private parking and rooms with all the facilities that will make your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing