We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great prices, great people, great breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2011

My boyfriend and I stumbled upon Villas Lodge when we arrived in Monteverde after trying to get in to Hotel Arcoiris, and we were VERY happy with what we found there!

This family run, quaint 8-room lodge is run by a kind, hospitable couple who were very helpful to us throughout our whole stay in Santa Elena/Monteverde. The location of the lodge is very nice, it's just about a 5-7 minute walk from the center of Santa Elena, where there are endless dining options/a few markets along the way. My boyfriend and I like being a little bit away from the center of all of the hustle and bustle of tourist-land, which is all around Santa Elena, where there are a vast amount of hip Backpacker hostels that boast the worlds "sickest" ziplines, so it was nice to be a little bit away from that. :)

The first night we stayed in the double room, where they discounted the price if we paid in efectivo (in real, hard cash), and we ended up paying $50 for an extremely spacious room with a fridge, bathroom, hot water, comfy beds, and cozy setting. We slept great in that room as well!

The next night we stayed in one of their cheaper rooms, that was still very nice, for $30. That night was one of the windiest nights I've ever experienced, and it was definitely really loud in the room, but there wasn't much the hotel had to blame for that. I'd say if you want a quieter room, then stay in the $50 room, it's way worth it.

They provide a tasty breakfast every morning, which includes delicious fresh fruits, your choice of tea,coffee, or juice, and then choice of eggs, toast, or desayuno tipico.

They also called us a colectivo in the morning to get us a ride to the Santa Elena Reserve, which was $2 each, rather than a $20 cab ride. They are such kind hosts, and the rooms are very well-kept.

I highly recommend this lodge, and would definitely go back to stay there once we are back in Santa Elena!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amferrarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Monteverde Villa Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

I would highly recommend Monteverde Villa Lodge.

Heiner and his wife are gracious and attentive hosts who bend over backward to make your stay enjoyable. The lodge has rustic ambiance and you feel like you're surrounded by nature. During our stay, we stayed in a cabana the first night and switched to an economy room the second night as the cabana was taken. I would definitely recommend the cabana even though it’s more expensive, as it has more room. The lodge is in a good location and anyways all of our tours picked us up by car. Heiner was helpful in giving advice for choosing which activities to do and arranging all our pick ups. We had specific dietary needs, which he accommodated the best he could, allowing us to store food in his fridge and freezer and have access to it during the day time hours. (Note: The cabana had its own fridge/freezer). Also a plus is that the lodge has a computer with internet access that you can use during day time hours (till 9pm).

But what really impressed me was the help that Heiner gave us when we realized that we had accidentally made a mistake in our hotel bookings and didn't have a hotel for the following night. Heiner sat with us for over an hour as we looked up hotels and he made phone calls on our behalf. This is personal attention even my own mother would not have done!

The only negative was the second day we did not have hot water. When I mentioned it to Heiner, he was up at our room right away to check on the situation and do his best to remedy it. I have no doubt that had we told Heiner earlier (instead of an hour before checkout), the situation would have been taken care of.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chanybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights at Monteverde Villa Lodge. Ana and Heiner are amazing guests!!! They showed us things (attractions/restaurants) to do in the area, prepared really good breakfast (try the typical!), gave us appetizers when we were on Internet, provided us with driving directions to Bijagua when we were leaving the last day, everything was perfect!!!

If you want to enjoy Santa-Elena, it is also only 10 minutes of walk from the downtown and from the supermarket. If you go in Monteverde, my advice is to stay there 2-3 days because there are a lot of things to do... the Monteverde Reserva is one of our favorite spots in our trip...don't miss it and bring long sleeves and pants, it is always windy!

Thank you very much to Ana and Heiner for making our stay a perfect moment!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonkeyBie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We started our Costa Rican adventure here and loved it!

Heiner and Ana were so helpful and they made our stay so much better. Great breakfast in the morning, everything is clean, short walk to town.

If your in Monteverde, this is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaMZambrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Heiner and Anna run an outstanding Lodge, their warmth and attention will make you smile every time you interact with them. The cabins are a superb value with high ceilings, sturdy construction (even the gale force winds couldn't rattle them!), hot water, decent sized fridge, tv (turned it on once), comfy beds, clean towels daily, free breakfast (I know!), laundry service (for a small fee), nice grounds with dozens of trees and birds. It's tranquil and quiet, comfortable and safe. The view of the stars at night is spectacular. Heiner recommended some tours to us and we took him up on the Hidden Valley Night Walk which was loads of fun. Seriously, you can't go wrong staying here. What would I add to our room? Perhaps a mirror in the main area so while one person is in the shower, the other can groom (comb hair, fix clothes, etc) thus saving some time. There are outlets everywhere so that's great. Hooks in the bathroom was suggested already and I would agree. Aside from that, great place, great value, GREAT PEOPLE. Without a doubt, we will stay here again.
Cecilia and Rafael

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wing2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Seriously, when you stay here, it's like staying with a C.R. family. They are so warm and friendly that you don't even think of them as "staff". And their family story is a nice one...

The price was excellent. The location is good, it's about a 5-10 minute walk to town, but there's nothing immediately near by. They can arrange pretty much everything for you (transfers, tours, etc.). There is a computer for use, the WiFi was iffy. The breakfast was excellent.

As mentioned, the single rooms are just ok. They are on the small side but comfy. My only negative comment is that there was no place to hang anything (please put up a couple of hooks!). The shower was tricky (to turn up the temperature, turn down the hot water volume). Although the rooms are not great with noise, it's quiet, except when there are hurricane-caliber winds in the area.

I would absolutely return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nysingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Another backpackers paradise. Little establishment run by a very friendly, young coupe of English speaking Ticos. Inexpensive; cash only. A few cabinas and a few rooms in a quiet corner in the outskirts of a little town of Santa Elena with easy access to Monteverde, Selvatura, Children’s Forest(Los ninos) and other attractions. In the town are Insect World, Serpentarium(reptiles), Ranarium(frogs), Butterly Centre and Orchid Garden(most plants are miniscule but look out for passing birds) as well as plenty of modest restaurants(we used the one next to the Orchid Garden: good, inexpensive food and free decent house wine for garden visitors). Breakfast at the Lodge conveniently included and served from as early as 6.30am. You can always ask for hot water or tea if you have not been offered it as a welcome drink in the first place that is. Yes, the rooms are pretty basic, no frills; again just a cozy bed and a bathroom with a somewhat fiddly shower(have to turn it slowly down in order to get the water temp. warm); some may have tv/sat. Free access to a PC/internet in the reception area. What sets this family run hotel apart is the owners-an extremely kind and helpful young couple; wish we had had more time to have a longer chat with them or play with their little boy for a few minutes. Signposting in Santa Elena directing to the Lodge could be better, the road is just as bumpy as everywhere there. Definitely 4x4 to Monteverde any time. No petrol/gas station(gasolineria) in the town; nearest one in Panamericana. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwiewiorowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range: £51 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Villa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 8 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing