We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family-run hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family-run hotel!”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed here two nights in August. The cabins were VERY spacious, big enough for 4 people but we got them at a discounted rate. The establishment is very new, so everything was clean and worked fine. The owners, Heiner and Ana, are very friendly and will do their best to accommodate any needs. Definitely recommend the place! The one problem during our stay was some loose tin sheeting on one of the cabins, which started rattling loudly at night in the wind. Heiner fixed it promptly the next morning, and even let one of us move to a different room with no hassles.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samir79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    95
    24
    1
    2
See reviews for
116
231
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Very clean huge room! In a nice quiet spot! Wonderful owner, extremely friendly and helpful. Very good and tasty big breakfast! Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Four blocks from downtown Santa Elena. Lovely family run the place. Only 1 1/2 years old. We had a large quadruple cabin. The room is much larger than most. The cabin is very close to the next one. Not many rooms in this place. It had a kitchen sink, fridge, a bar with two stools. Plenty of hot shower water. Individual lights over the three beds. Almost no bugs (some sugar ants got to our food). Clean. Could here the neighbors the usual amount. There were shelves next to the TV. Could see a six foot pile of gravel out the side window. Could hear a rooster in distance, not enough to wake. A barking dog in the early morning, not load enough to wake, but loud enough to wish it would be quite. Some places are worse. Satellite TV in the room. The lobby has a computer you can use to get on the internet, which we did. Breakfast was good, and well presented. The usual choices. We all drank the water and were fine. They gave a good map of the area that I used to drive around. Very helpful. As you approach Santa Elena from the coast, the dirt turns to pavement. About 100 meters later (or is it before the pavement?, I forget now) look for a sign and turn on the left. Follow the signs.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AndyinBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. It's walkable to the "downtown" area of Monteverde and to many of the attractions (you can easily find cabs to those that you can't walk to). The room itself was very clean and cozy, and the breakfast was delicious. Heiner and Ana, who own the hotel, were wonderful - they helped us book activities and suggested great places to eat. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersInDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We decided to go there because of all those good reviews about this hotel. We had a first class service from the Hotel Manager, with our reservations around Monteverde. It is a small hotel, but always good customer service around activities and restaurants. We gladly will go again!!!

Room Tip: Rooms and bathrooms are all very clean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panchito1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
369 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Monteverde has lots to do outside, so there's no need to waste time and money on accommodations. Thus the Monteverde Villa Lodge fits the bill nicely. We (2 adults, 2 children) stayed in a small cabin that slept 4. It was rustic, but certainly comfortable. A nice breakfast is included in the rate, and laundry service is available. It's located just a few minutes outside the "town" center, but there are some restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed in Monteverde Villa Lodge 3 nights July 15, 16 and 17 2011 -- it is the rainy season, combined with tropical depression from the pacific --- it poured most of the time -- nevertheless we had a GREAT time. Villa Lodge is perfectly located -- out of the center of town in a nice quite verdant place (butterflies and hummingbirds), and close to everything. The cabins are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is great. However, the best of Villa Lodge are Heiner and Ana. Heiner is gentle, kind and attentive. Heiner catered to every little need we had. He arranged the tours for us, suggested places to eat, to visit, to watch futbol. As a couple Ana and Heiner embraced us and made us part of their family the three days we were there. We enjoyed the place immensely, will return to Villa Lodge in our future visits to Monteverde and will recommend it to anybody who plans to visit Monteverde which BTW if you are in Costa Rica-- it is a must.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivatnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Property: Monteverde Villa Lodge
Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Villa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 8 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing