We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We, a family of four stayed in bungalow 8, which has a queen bed and two singles. Upon arrival we were welcomed and got a lot of info on Monteverde. After we were brought to the bungalow we got lemonade and coffee. The bungalow was very clean. Though the bungalow is spacious the bathroom is rather small. The breakfast was nice and more than sufficient. Definitely, a place to stay with a personal touch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MvdHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Like other reviews, this place was great for our family. We had the room with three beds and small kitchen. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. They booked tours and made sure we enjoyed our time in Monteverde. The room was spotless, breakfast was tasty and our teenage boys enjoyed pancakes for a change of pace one morning. The location was a five minute walk into town and on a quiet street. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while visiting Monteverde, Curi Cancha & Santa Maria parks.

The service we received was excellent, the hotel is locally owned, the rooms were spotless and extremely spacious with a small kitchenette. Breakfasts were also very tasty.

Overall we'd recommend this hotel, especially if you're looking for something away from the very centre of Santa Elena.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichF004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at Monteverde Villa Lodge for 2 nights. We arrived and the owner immediately greeted us with fresh lemon aid. Our rooms were large and very clean - my family stayed in room 8 at the far end of the lodge while my sisters slept in room 6. Both rooms had microwave ovens, a sink and a nice bathroom with hot water. The beds were firm and had more blankets than we needed, even though the evenings were cool.

I can't say enough about the owners. Very nice, very helpful. They helped us book tours and find restaurants (the pizza place around the corner is especially good) and their recommendations were spot-on. They even called every single night tour operator to find prices for kids and get tour times. The breakfast was delicious, and they were always ready with a cup of coffee or tea (or hot chocolate for my kids) whenever we were in the common areas.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to downtown Santa Elena. The street it's on isn't particularly nice, but hopefully that won't stop anyone from staying there. Very good value for the money with excellent service.

Room Tip: Room 8 had very weak wifi - the rooms closer to the hotel reception area had better reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed one night at this lovely hotel and I must say it was the best hospitality we received in all of Costa Rica! The rooms were super clean and the very kind owner, Heiner even brought an extra bed. Both husband, wife and son were very hospitable. Very good info with surrounding tours and excellent breakfast in the morning. I felt safe. It was very homey. Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kglastetter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Spend 3 nights here after time in Arenal; now heading to Manuel Antonio Nat. Park. Excellent service, clean rooms, extremely helpful in booking and recommending tours. Traveling with another family, we enjoyed excellent breakfast every morning and hanging out in the lobby area in the evening after long days of hikes/tours. Providing laundry service was excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Loved everything about this conveniently located hotel! From the warm welcome to the delicious breakfast....to personal attention to tour booking and laundry service....we felt like familia! Highly recommend and would love to return again. We had a fabulous 3 nights!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
253 reviews
1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.8 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range: £40 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Villa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 8 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing