We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly owner & staff, convenient location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly owner & staff, convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was my first time in Monteverde, and there are many places to stay with either "monteverde" and "lodge" in their name. This one was a short, easy walk to the main road, but not on the main road. In fact, from here, it was easy to walk to numerous interesting places, including the Santa Elena Reserve.

Beautifully done with guancaste woods, this place had a peaceful green space in front of the cabins. And Heiner (the owner) was very informative and very helpful when it came to arranging adventures such as zip-lining and a night walk in the forest.

Breakfast was tasty, offering the usual choice of eggs, traditional food, or both. Also, bless them, the staff did my laundry (as I had been traveling for more than a week). My large room had a mini-fridge, a microwave, and a coffee-maker. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JP C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    89
    22
    1
    2
See reviews for
108
228
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a family run hotel; owner very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in the price and was very tasty. We enjoyed the having the option of a Tico breakfast (and choose it every day!) Our room had a rustic feel and was lovely. We will stay here again if we ever go back to Monteverde.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Our room was huge - 2 double beds and 1 single bed + ample of space to move around. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Location is bit off the center, about 10-15 min walk, but it's nice and quiet. Breakfast was delicious and staff was very helpful and friendly. Definately would stay there next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mluiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

A really, really lovely place to stay.

The rooms are big and the beds are great. (There were two large king-size beds). We were in room 5, one of the middle rooms at ground level just past reception and the breakfast room. Each ‘cabin’ is separated by a large gap between them, so you don’t hear your neighbours. The cabins have a small kitchenette with a breakfast bar, small microwave, coffee maker and fridge. The two course breakfast is a plate of very fresh fruit and then a choice of eggs, toast and jam or pancakes or typical Tico breakfast. We were’t feeling up to the eggs one morning but granola and milk were no problem for them either - they are very amenable.

When we arrive in a new place the main thing we want (after a nice hotel, and a good bed) is sound advice about the tours to take and the things to do / see. It’s really difficult from guide books and the internet to tell what is worth doing and what is not. That is where Heiner and his team are great. They gave us help, advice, recommendations, booked everything for us (sorted the wheat from the chaff) which made everything really easy and meant that we ended up having a brilliant time in Monteverde. All the staff are friendly and it was a joy to stay there.

It’s not bang in the centre of town but few places are and many are much further out. Nearly all the tours picked us up from the hotel but if they didn’t a taxi to, say, the Cheese Factory is only a few dollars. We walked into town town every evening for dinner (and back again) and it was no problem - it took about 10 minutes each way.

It is a very warm and welcoming place and we wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvdbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The place looks good, there is a very nice breakfast and the owner of the place was very nice and helped us with any thing around.We even got a small gift when we left. And also the price is not bed at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived yesterday and enjoying a breakfast right now in a room that let's you know...this is Monteverde. This place just makes you feel right at home. Rooms are specious, clean and cozy. The service is warm, personal and spot on. It's amazing how much they achieved in such a short time. Highly highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ggators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here during our visit to the Monteverde Rain Forest and to zipline. We felt very taken care of and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!

This property consists of individual cabins a 10 minute walk on dirt roads to "downtown". The walk is a bit dusty and no sidewalk. No problem if you wear good shoes. Dirt roads are everywhere here so it was not a shock.
The room was large and comfortable. Good, hot shower. Bed was comfortable.Wifi is reliable!
We also enjoyed a delicious breakfast - choice of Costa Rican breakfast, eggs/toast or pancakes. Good coffee too, which we bought several bags to take home.
Heiner booked us a coffee tour, zip lining, night walk tour and monteverde cloud forest tours. All which were exceptional.

There is no internet booking for this lodge which I could find, but they are very quick to respond to emails.
It was very windy during our stay and the wind howled all night. Some dust blew in under the door but nothing major.

Overall a great value and definitely recommended if looking for a cabin-type stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowbear613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Property: Monteverde Villa Lodge
Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Villa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 8 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing