We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible experience!! Stay here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredible experience!! Stay here!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I arrived and were graciously greeted by Ana. She was so helpful and friendly in explaining the area and things to do- she even set up a night walk tour that evening and a guided tour of the Monteverde cloud forest (highly recommend both!). The welcome drink (we chose lemonade) was the best I have ever had!! The cabin was spacious and very clean! The hotel is also in a great location and close to town. When we opened our door the next morning to go have the delicious breakfast they provided- we saw our rental car had a flat tire!! Geineer so considerately offered to help. We left the key with him and when we return from our tour we were amazed to find he himself had changed our flat tire and even had the flat tire patched!!! We were speechless! We did not have to take any time from our vacation, Geineer handled everything!! Geineer, Ana, and Natasha were amazing! You can tell they truly care about you and your stay with them- when you stay with them, you are treated like family. Geineer and Ana are two of the most genuinely kind and caring people I have ever met!! And you can not beat the price- do yourself a favor and stay here!!! I will alway remember their kindness and generosity! Made our trip in Monteverde unforgettable!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    92
    23
    1
    2
See reviews for
113
231
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our family was staying in Monteverde for two nights which we spent at Monteverde Villa Lodge. The lodge is conveniently located within walking or very short driving distance to Santa Eleana. Heiner totally took care of us. He offered us drinks when we arrived even though it was around 5pm. He was always checking in with us to see if there was anything additional he could do to make our stay more pleasant. Breakfast was wonderful with everything made to order. He took messages from our guide and assisted in coordination with him. On our last day he even made arrangements to store our bags so that we could hike and come back and change for travel that afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I were delighted when we arrived at the Monteverde Villa and were greeted by Heiner and Ana. They were more than gracious and very accommodating. We had booked a night hike and they immediately arranged for our transportation and saw that we were placed in our room. The room was spacious, very clean, and included a small kitchen area with everything needed to eat including a coffee pot.

They served breakfast as part of the room price, it was not just a continental breakfast but a complete meal. The day started with a wonderful fresh fruit tray, orange juice, and included rice, beans, and eggs or waffles. It was delicious.

We were only able to stay two nights but hope to return to this beautifully landscaped hotel soon.

Room Tip: Every room we saw was excellent, however, we stayed on the ground level in room surrounded by beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Ana, Heiner and Herbert take hospitality to a whole new level! Despite arriving late in the evening, we were checked in, had directions around town, a great recommendation for dinner and the next days activities booked within half an hour! The rooms are very spacious, clean and include a handy fridge and kitchen area. The breakfasts are generous, made fresh to order and super tasty! However, the thing that makes Monteverde Villa Lodge stand out is the friendliness, generosity and hospitality of the owners and staff who make you feel like you are part of the family. Can very highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisOz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My partner and I stayed for 6 nights in April. Originally the plan was to stay for a few nights but we extended stay. It was because Monteverde offers so much for nature lovers, and also both Heiner and Ana were superb hosts. The room was very clean and comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. I personally liked the typical Costarican breakfast. On the day we left Santa Elena, we had to get up very early to catch a public bus. Heiner knew my love for coffee by then, so he brought a coffee maker to our room the night before so that I do not miss my morning coffee. Both of them treat guests as like we are all family members or close friends. We never received such warm and kind hospitality before anywhere we stayed. Their place is highly recommended, and we will also go back again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouray, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. The atmosphere is great, the staff friendly and helpful, the rooms very clean and specious, and breakfast is delicious! We highly recommended this B&B!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregoryFoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My friends and I stayed two nights here and had a wonderful experience.If I ever come down this direction again,Iwould diffently recommend staying here. The atmosphere and the hospitality was awesome. Thank you for giving me an awesome welcome and stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mon2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Property: Monteverde Villa Lodge
Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Villa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 8 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing