We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabinas Capulin
Nearby Hotels
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
104
49
14
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
49
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscloud forestcosta ricainteresting birdsmonteverde reserverustic cabinthe kitchengreat view of the valleyshort staygravel roadwalk into townfruitquiet locationtoilet paperper nighttwo nightsgreat place to stayeggs
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were two families traveling together and stayed at the Casa de Montana. The four bedrooms could easily accommodate all of us. The entire cabin is full of wood furniture, which gives it a nice rustic mountain touch. The cabins are at various levels on the hillside and Casa de Montana is on its own level. We had great privacy and felt there was nothing but nature around. The kids had a lovely time running around and exploring. There was a sugarcane patch and a juice extractor which the kids loved to experiment with.

Roy was a gracious host and helped arrange the tours for us. We arranged to have them cook breakfast for us and the kids enjoyed having their fill of pancakes.

It does get does a little cool and very windy in December. The howling winds do make getting a good nights rest a challenge if you are a light sleeper.

Even with the 4x4 making up the steep grade up to the cabin took a bit of effort.

Room Tip: Chose Casa de Montana if you are in a family or traveling in a group.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monkAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed for 2 days in Cabin 5. They have a great patio overlooking the forest where you can relax and read a book. Cabins are clean and bathrooms are good. Shower was great with good hot water. Staff is helpful and will arrange for your trips and provide good information.
Biggest drawback is it is far from the town center and you need a taxi or car to get around. One way taxi will cost you $3. No restaurant on location and nothing close by. Breakfast was ok and nothing great.

I wouldn't stay here without a car. Not recommended for solo travel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swordfish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My best friend and I stayed here for the one night we stayed in Monteverde. The cabins were clean and comfortable and had a spectacular view of the cloud forest that can't be beat! The breakfast in the morning was delicious and overall the staff was very helpful, letting us know if they would be away from the front office and calling our tour company just to confirm that our transportation was on its way! A great, quiet place to stay in Monteverde!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison_C532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at the Cabinas Capulin for one night last month. Whenever we arrived, there was a young girl who gave us very simple directions to our cabin and not much information about the place or where we were in relation to other points. We actually had some issues finding our cabin because there was no signage saying where to find it. The room was simple and clean enough, and later we met Roy who was extremely nice and helpful. You could tell that his hospitality was genuine. We were in Cabin number 7 and luckily no one was in the adjacent cabins so we were able to enjoy the balcony and views with some privacy. The views are beautiful by the way from the balcony. We decided to stay only one night, because we did not care so much for the location of the cabins. While it is close to the town of Santa Elena, it felt a bit too isolated for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acs238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed at Cabinas Capulin at the end of our trip through Costa Rica and in comparison to other places we stayed, it represents poor value. Most of the positive reviews here are for the 2 or 4 bedroom cabins. The 1 bedroom cabins are seriously average.

Roy is great. He is super helpful, very friendly and he did everything he could to make us feel welcome. We actually quite liked his simple breakfast and he organised a couple of tours for us that were great (you must do Sky Trek). However, when he warned us to check the bed for scorpions before getting in, and he pointed out some of the tarantula nests, his helpfulness went a bit far!

We were lucky that there was no one else staying in adjacent cabins at the time as the walls are flimsy and the balcony is shared. Worst of all was the cleanliness of the bathroom. There was hair everywhere, cleaning products left scattered and a couple of dead insects in the shower drain. It seemed that someone had given up halfway through cleaning our room. The bed was average and overall, it felt more like a camping experience rather than a rustic cabin.

This is probably a place for families or groups - if you are a couple and planning on a couple of cosy nights in a comfortable cabin, I would probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElCapitanTinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews