We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Santa Elena / Monteverde”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Puesta del Sol
Ranked #14 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Santa Elena / Monteverde”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

My sister and I stayed at Freddy's La Puesta Del Sol during the holidays in 2012 and definitely recommend it. This was - thankfully - not in the center of Santa Elena where our first hotel was located. This was slightly outside of the town center which made for a much quieter night sleep! It was only a 10 minute walk into the very center of town anyway, so the location was just right. We had a 1st floor room with 2 twin beds and one double, our own shower and bath - it was very comfortable and super clean. The best part about the stay was Freddy's wildlife tour! He is from Santa Elena, knows EVERYONE in town, and not only took us out for a 5AM birding+ tour of the area, but got up and made us breakfast in his kitchen too! We saw FAR MORE birds and wildlife with Freddy than we did with the guides in the Monteverde Cloud Forest - in part because he knows the special areas around that are not heavily frequented by tourists, and which are owned and accessed by local people instead. We definitely recommend this hotel and Freddy's tour!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    6
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teeswater, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We recently spent three nights at Freddie and Juanita's hotel. They were most attentive to any of our needs or concerns and made us feel right at home. We took Freddie's tour our first morning and were thrilled with his knowledge of the birds and wildlife in the immediate area. A great way to discover some of the sights and sounds of Monteverde.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Although we didn't stay at this hotel we booked a birding tour with Freddy since he was recommended. I went with my boyfriend who is a hardcore birder and he was super exited. Freddy took us on a 4 hour tour where we saw birds, including Toucans and Motmots, and as a bonus we also saw a sloth and one aguti. He definitely knows his birds and you can see the love and passion that he has for it. Needles to say we were super happy we booked his tour and had a chance to ride in his awesome blue jeep.Pura Vida!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chabela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Though we did not stay in this hotel, my family recently spent a morning with Freddy looking for birds and other creatures in the Santa Elena area. We saw so many birds we would have missed without Freddy and his trusty telescope! He demonstrated his thorough knowledge of birds and wildlife throughout the morning, taking us to various spots where we were likely to spot things of interest. At the end of the tour, we were fortunate to see a young quetzal, which we would have never seen without Freddy's keen eye and knowledge of the area. I would highly recommend Freddy to anyone considering a guided walk in the Monteverde/Santa Elena area.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

I like this hotel because it was very clean and very quiet for a great nights sleep. The bed and bathrooms are very clean and comfortable. Freddie and his family are very nice. Freddie runs guided bird tours and he goes above and beyond to make sure you can find amazing animals. I saw a sloth, and a Quetzel, and a ton of parrots and other birds. He knows ever bird call on earth and is perhaps the sweetest person in Costa Rica. He ran around and was so excited to make my experience amazing. He REALLY cared and truly enjoyed showing me all of the amazing animals! He was also able to book my zip lining tour (I loved extremo!! Go Superman!!!) and transport to Arenal Volcano. I really enjoyed my 2 night stay here and felt much better knowing that the money that I was spending on the room was going directly to his family and not a wealthy foreigner who has a business here. Thank you Freddie for the amazing experience, and wonderful nights stay. I would definitely come back! Pura Vida!!!!!!!

Room Tip: They are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellasorrisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

We were very pleased to stay at such a clean and "modern" hostel; the rooms being on a par with an economy motel in "the States". It is located outside of the bustle of the main streets of Santa Elena so was quiet and restful, while being a comfortable walk to the main streets for shopping and eating. Enjoyed looking at a sloth and her baby on the way to town numerous times (stayed four days).

Freddie arranged tours and transportation for our visiting the places we wanted to see. The "crown" of our visit was taking a birding tour with Freddie: even though it was raining he managed to find us a Quetzal which is a birder's life goal! Freddie knows his birds and other wildlife and plants. Don't miss his tour - he has all the equipment you'll need and the knowledge of where to take you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctowhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

After a long day of travelling we finally reached Santa Elena. It was a very bumpy ride and we were exhausted and didnt book a hotel. When we had our backpacks Freddy approached us and told us about his new hotel for a really good price. He took us in his awesome blue jeep (you definitely gonna love his jeep) to his hotel and we were amazed how spacious and clean the rooms were. The next wonderful moment was the shower! Good water pressure and you can mix it as hot as you want. Because the Hotel is just out of the center (under 5 min walk from main street) you can enjoy a good night rest and wont be disturbed by any traffic or bar sounds. So if you want to visit Monteverde please take a look at this wonderful hotel. We highly recommend it. We liked the hotel so much that we stayed for 4 nights.

This was only the hotel itself. Freddy guided us to see some wildlife around the woods in Santa Elena. His eyes and ears are made for spotting every single bird. Some were so small and far away that you dont have the faintest idea how the hell he spotted it. But he has good professional gear that he takes along the tour so you are able to see everything cristal clear.
Dont miss this tour!!!

We hope you will have pleasant stay in Santa Elena and hope that your experience with Hotel la Puesta del sol will be just as good as ours. But no doubt it will.

Greetings, Mariska and Kasper
The Netherlands

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariska87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Elena hotels
0.0 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Puesta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Puesta del Sol

Property: Hotel La Puesta del Sol
Address: 0.5 Km from Santa Elena downown, Santa Elena 5655-60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Costa Rican family-owned lodge. We, Freddy and Juanita (owners) offer personal service to all our guests. The lodge has great view to Monteverde's mountains and spectacular sunsets. Located near Santa Elena in a highly peaceful place. We offer: rooms with private bathroom and hot water- Wi-Fi internet- Breakfast- Laundry Service- Private parking area- World Famous Bird Watching Freddy's Tour- Tours and activities information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel La Puesta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Puesta Del Sol Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing