We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and unreasonable service - rude owner!”
Review of Hotel El Tucan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel El Tucan
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Lima, Peru
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and unreasonable service - rude owner!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Overpriced and Unreasonable Service.
We arrived Monteverde and took our washing into El Toucan Hostel. The manager/owner (Tony) insisted on weighing our clothes soaking wet and when we mentioned this would weigh twice as much as dry clothes he said it would not make any difference to the final price.
We picked our clothes up the following day and when we weighed our clothes they weighed half as much as the day before. The manager (Tony) refused our request to recalculate the price based on clothes that were dry and subsequently we had to pay $10 for our washing and not $5. The manager was quite rude and laughed at our request to reweigh our clothes.
We would not recommend this Hostel to anyone given the overpriced and unreasonable service we received from the Manager of El Toucan Hostel.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LaetitiaRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    40
    33
    18
    34
See reviews for
4
61
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Randomly stayed here after a nice lady persuaded us to when we got off the bus. We managed to get a discounted room for $7 a night, private room too! And they were so helpful arranging canopy tours and jeep boat jeep services etc. Rooms are clean and bathrooms are fine.
You can cook your own breakfast in the morning and there is free fruit which they also supply.
Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avocadotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baytown, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great place to rest or plan your vacation, can't say enough good things about this place! Olman was a fantastic source and became a great friend to know in Costa Rica. They were very accommodating and gave excellent advice on traveling throughout Costa Rica. I spent three months traveling Costa Rica and found this to be one of my most favorite places to recuperate, plan my next adventure, or zip line through the cloud forests!

Room Tip: All rooms are well kept and even shared bathrooms stayed clean during my stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Guys, if you are in monte verde, without a doubt stay en el tucan. Tony is the owner and an amazing person and will stop at nothing to make you feel like family. Great price! Great facility! 5 stars. Bonus is the laundry service, and when you've travelled you know how important that is. I cannot stress enough. STAY HERE in el Tucan if you want a home away from home and tell tony Jose from Winnipeg sent you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

great location very close to everywhere, we spent a couple of nights here. the staff of the hostel was great arranging tours with the best prices for us.

next year we will be staying here again
thank you Antonio for all your good service and help

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank su d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Two friends and I stayed at the El Tucan hostel in March 2013 and we were satisfied with our stay for what we paid. We arrived after 6pm and weren't planning to stay the night but just meet our ride there. Turns out we had to spend the night and the staff had no trouble accommodating us. It was $10/person for a mixed dorm. The rooms weren't decorated but were solid wood paneled. The beds had linen and pillows ready to go and I was quite warm and comfortable. The bathrooms were average however one almost always didn't have toilet paper. A storm rolled in the evening we stayed and had I not had my ear plugs, I probably would have been miserable since whatever sign or tin roof was just outside our window was thrashing all night. Breakfast the next morning was DIY with fruit, eggs, bread and coffee available. It was included in the price of our stay. The internet worked fine and I was even able to Skype my husband a few times without a problem. The location was excellent with yummy food joints (Taco Taco) and cafes within very easy walking distance. Its just down the hill from the bus stop and if you're up for a longer walk, you could make it to Curi-Cancha nature reserve in 45 minutes. The staff would be happy to call a taxi for you though if you prefer. I didn't use the laundry service but they offer it and I saw the staff doing laundry while we were there.

Overall, I found the El Tucan to be quaint and comfy. You are staying at a hostel, not a 5-star resort. If you come with those expectations and enjoy the cheap night stay, you'll be satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmv130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This was an average hostel. The private room with a private bath was $30 or $35, the room was all wood paneling nothing great. The bathroom was clean enough but the shower head had electrical wires exposed attaching it to the ceiling which made me nervous. There are benches right outside most of the rooms and you can hear conversations through the windows (which don't close completely) at night while trying to fall asleep and in my case the next morning while someone was having a loud phone call conversation. The staff was helpful and friendly but I wasn't overly impressed with the place. We checked out 2 other hostels and not really too impressed with any of them. This town in general wasn't my favorite we stayed 2 nights and basically only stopped there for ziplining and did the night tour, both highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Country Lodge
Monteverde Country Lodge
#3 of 6 in Santa Elena
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tucan

Property: Hotel El Tucan
Address: Town Center, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Tucan is a perfect solution for travelers under a limited budget, we offer our customer very clean, comfortable and nice rooms under a very cheap cost. Cabinas El Tucan is located in Monteverde Costa Rica right on the Monteverde downtown. cabinas el tucan offer rooms with share and private bathrooms, all the bathrooms come with hotel water. Tv area, Game area, relaxing area, internet area, WIFI connection and breakfast include are a few of the great things offered by Cabinas El Tucan in Monteverde Costa Rica ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tucan Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing