We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, would recommend to anyone!”
Review of Hotel El Tucan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel El Tucan
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Chose to stay at El Tucan after leaving another nearby hotel. El Tucan was a far better value. The rooms are very clean and cozy, all dark wood, a great cabin feel. The staff is very knowledgeable and can arrange tours, but are not pushy. We loved having the communal kitchen to make dinner for a change and meet other guests. The supermarket is very close and it a great way to save a few dollars on going out to eat. The owner Tony is very happy and concerned that all of his guests enjoy their stay. Also Evan who works here is very helpful and friendly. Just a good vibe all around!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickihawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

I stayed in hotel El Tucan in the summer of 2009 with three other girlfriends. I had moved there after a horrible experience in another hotel in Monteverde - wet rooms, bugs everywhere, no service whatsoever. Tony, the owner of El Tucan, and his family were extremely welcoming, booked us an excellent ziplining tour, and provided us with extremely clean, comfortable rooms. Everything was very basic, but clean. It was probably one of the best hostels I stayed in during my two weeks in Costa Rica. I would absolutely recommend staying here if you're in Monteverde.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sornusa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

very friendly owner, with small but comfortable rooms.
EVAN the guy of the reception was very friendly and was a enormous source of information not only for the activities in the monteverde but in whole costa rica. he assisted us in making reservations of hotels and tours for our next days in costa rica...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenceDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Local people are really nice and helpful. There is a possibility to order all trips in the hotel and be picked up there. Rooms are clean, little small, with a private bathroom. Beds arent so confortable but it is enough good for few days. There was a common kitchen and a room with computers and a place for relaxing. There is a wifi in the hotel. You can also use a laundry service for fees in the hotel. There is a possibility to have a breakfast that you make by yourself from prepared food, like eggs, a bread, corn flakes, fruits etc. I would recommend the hotel especially to younger people that dont mind to be situated in the centre and are sticked by a budget. There is only one negative, the hotel is situated in a little noisy place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eeuropeantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This is a great hostel, with really friendly and helpful staff - Evan in particular - and a great vibe. The living area is made up of lots of hammocks to chill out on and meet people - what more could you want after a day's trekking? The coffee is free all day and there is a free breakfast which is comprehensive. Also free internet, and it's in a great location. The room was a lovely wooden cabin with comfy beds. Highly recommended! :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This Hotel is great and had I really really good time over there.
The rooms are very clean, big and cheap. Specially the people in this hotel are soooo friendly and will give you the best service in town. Evan can tell you every detail about the tours in and around Monteverde and as well for other places in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stopped by El Tucan to book a reservation for zip lining tours - they gave us the best deal we could find! Not only that, Evan, one of the very friendly and fun staff members, sat there talking to us for hours about the best places to go in Costa Rica. We had a blast just hanging out in the lobby talking to him and all of the guests. They offer free coffee and internet all day, and have a common room with tons of cozy hammocks. Throughout the rest of our stay in Santa Elena, we would drop by just because the vibe there was so great and relaxing. We did not stay there because we had already booked another hotel, but we went upstairs to use the bathrooms, which were in very good shape, and the wood decor upstairs was really charming. We've already talked about staying there when we go back to Costa Rica. Drop by and see Evan for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naughtynati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
#17 of 20 in Monteverde
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tucan

Address: Town Center, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range: £11 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Tucan is a perfect solution for travelers under a limited budget, we offer our customer very clean, comfortable and nice rooms under a very cheap cost. Cabinas El Tucan is located in Monteverde Costa Rica right on the Monteverde downtown. cabinas el tucan offer rooms with share and private bathrooms, all the bathrooms come with hotel water. Tv area, Game area, relaxing area, internet area, WIFI connection and breakfast include are a few of the great things offered by Cabinas El Tucan in Monteverde Costa Rica ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tucan Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing