We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Gyba y Yorle are very nice and helpfull! I loved our room with big windows and the breakfast! Gracias for the great time and organization of out trips! Joanna

Room Tip: down with the view of trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    100
    20
    19
    19
See reviews for
13
92
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We got a small upstairs room for 3 that was a bit cramped and hot and stuffy during the day. Other than that, it was clean and comfortable. At night it cooled down. The mattresses were in good condition. Showers had hot water. Breakfast was delicious. We felt very safe here. There is someone that works there on site 24 hrs/day. The staff Gabi and Yorle gave us information on activities in the area and arranged for us to go on tours then set up our next hostel stay. They were extremely helpful. We stayed 3 nights here and loved it!

Room Tip: If you make reservations, ask for a downstairs room, as they are more airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Gaby and Yorle (the owners) are such nice people. The place is clean, friendly, and safe.
I was traveling with a minor, and they took her on like they were big sisters. Sloth Backpackers
is very conveniently located near enough to the bus (2 minute walk) but far enough to be away from the town noise. They arranged tours for us and helped us figure out our transportation. They even met us at the bus stop (unexpected) to make sure we were able to find the place.

The backpackers hostels in general are not fancy. At Sloth you get a clean room, a nice breakfast (great coffee) and a place to take a shower. Don't expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenzoTheLobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannon Beach, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We visited the Sloth Backpackers in March and were quite happy with it. close to town and activities. The staff: Gabi and Yorle were incredibly helpful in telling us everything there was to do in the area, recommending restaurants, booking us on a night walking tour and more activides en the recepcion!! Good prices
The location is also very good!!!

Sloth Backpackers, was immaculately cared for, the breakfasts were delicious, the room very comfortable and clean and one of the most wonderful hosts that we encountered during our Costa Rican trip!!!

The rooms are basic but good and great value for money. I also enjoyed the breakfast with a more then plenty amount of delicious pancakes and fresh fruits.

Rooms and breakfast was great, but what really did the stay special was the friendly and helpful staff - and not the least the fantastic complimentary tea and coffee :) Free all day.

I really recommend staying at this place!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eduard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

“Most favourite stay in Costa Rica!”

Sloth Backpackers is a nice clean b&b. It is centrally located in Sta. Elena.
The owners, Yorle & Gaby is extremly helpful with organizing tours and suggesting activities. They also serve a delicious breakfast...try banana pancakes!
the girls, will help you in any way to make your stay as nice as possible.
Plus he gives great info and discounts on most of the tours and activities in Monteverde.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. There's a communal kitchen area, which has all the basics you need, WiFi and computer you can use. The breakfast is great! A variety of fruits and the choice of banana pancakes, eggs and toast. Coffee or tea are offered at any time of the day.

very fast Internet (+wifi). Hot showers in which are cleaned daily and are very comfortable and clean

Gaby was super nice and helpful with booking tours and transportation! Amazing yorle make us Breakfast was delicious! Really a great place to stay...


It's a short 2 minutes, walk to town center which has everything you need: a bakery, bank, market, and plenty of sodas and coffee shops.

I would definitely stay here again, and so should you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo60403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed for 3 nights at the Sloth and I felt very comfortable in any activity that we planned.

Here are that we found in respect the price and quality :

- Free coffee all time

- a great breakfast

- Very friendly to explain everything that they offer.

- Very good atmosphere

- The lady in the front desk was helpful, setting up the horse back riding and water Taxi.

- And very important thing the place was clean.

For all that reasons I recommend the Sloth Backpackers !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delta_bravo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I have travelled all through central America and haven't been bothered to write a review till now because this hostel is that bad!! Reading some of the other reviews bout this hostel someone perfectly described it by calling it a telemarketing place rather than a hostel. We payed $10 for our room which is a lot compared to the other hostels in town and told to that includes a free breakfast.

The owner constantly harasses u bout how if u book a tour with her the commission from the tours go to a good free breakfast. The breakfast is CRAP! it's two pieces of toast with jam! Honestly it doesn't bother me that the breakfast is nothing at all but to be constantly told every time of day that ur tour commission goes towards providing u with a good breakfast is crap!

We were also told her tour prices are the cheapest which isnt true a shuttle to la fortuna at her hostel was $20 and it was only $15 at pensioner elana hostel same with some of the other tours. So we booked our tours elsewear!

Just an example of how crazy and harassing the owner was with the trying to get us to book tours she knocked on our door one night at 10pm when we were already in bed to tell us for the 20th time how the tours contribute to the good free breakfast.

Also the same thing happened to us that happened to someone else that reviewed this hostel she told us to leave because we didn't book any tours this is about two hours befor check out to. We were already backing our bags. We went to another hostel with a better location think it was called hostel monterverde they provided a way more awesome free breakfast with lots of options and it was only $7 not only that they did not harass us even once bout tours!!! Stay away from sloth backpackers!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 21 in Monteverde
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
1,054 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing