We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes you feel like you're part of the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Makes you feel like you're part of the family”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This isn't the biggest hostel in town, but if you want a sweet environment that feels like home, this is the place to go. The owner, Yorle, is supercool—a warm and caring person who treats you like part of the family.

When we stayed at Sloth Backpackers, it was nice, clean, safe, and cool, with nice beds, clean bathrooms, and no bugs—and it's a great deal since it comes with a nice free home-cooked hot breakfast that Yorle cooks herself.

In addition to being a great place to stay, Yorle completely hooked us up with everything we needed in town:

- arranged for us to stay at a beautiful local cabin on the outskirts of town (since we stayed for 2 weeks and wanted our own place)
- arranged a coffee/sugar/chocolate tour, where we learned about the making of coffee, sugar, and chocolate
- gave us good advice on local restaurants (the best ones are Trio, Treehouse, Taco y Taco, and Musashi Sushi)
- arranged for us to go ziplining, which was incredible

And like I said, she just treated us like part of the family:

- on my birthday, she made a home-cooked traditional Costa Rican dinner for me and my friends, which was amazing and delicious
- she took us with her the local bar, Bar Amigos, to watch the big futbol match between Costa Rica and El Salvador with her and her friends and family, a big party which was super fun
- she introduced us to her sisters, brothers, cousins, and father, a lovely local family who were all super nice and warm too
- she even made calls and helped us arrange accommodations in the next town we were going to!

Basically, because of Yorle, we weren't just random tourists. Instead, we felt like we made friends with real people, and got to know a little slice of Costa Rican culture. I've told Yorle she's welcome to visit me in New York anytime. I'm sure you'll feel the same way.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonteverdeSlothBB, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
wuuaaaooo! Very beautiful comment!
Thank you friends for your visit, I will miss!
Good luck in your La Fortuna and Nicaragua, remember that if this is your wish to return home!
Pura vida!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    101
    23
    19
    19
See reviews for
13
94
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The private room was very cute and very comfortable. There was one comfortable double bed, and a chair to put our bags on. The shared bathroom was a little small , but had a great hot water shower the decor is very nice bath are some nice .. sloths!! the bathrooms are very clean.
The location of the hotel is just down a hill from the main part of town which was great for low noise levels & access to restaurants.
We felt very safe at all times walking around at night and found the locals & other tourists very friendly. Santa Elena was a great town to visit and we will be going back for a second visit and will definitely stay at Sloth Backpackers
Breakfast was delicious. Gaby & Yorle gives you a choice of a few things, but I would suggest you try his pancakes with banana or pineapple as they are to die for, included in the nightly rate $10 p.p Wonderful service
The girls were amazing, preparing our delicious breakfast so incredibly helpful.
They arranged everything we did for us since he has good relationships with people there often at a discount.
After being there and seeing other places, I still think this is the best place in Monteverde to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

It is a simple hostel at a low price. The best part is the service that they provided. Stayed there for a night and it was good! Yorle was very nice and extremely helpful. She came to fetch me at the bus terminal! She gave me advice on what to do and gave good recommendations. She has plenty of tours to offer to you at a good price. The location is within the town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

“Great place, great staff, great experience!
Yorle and gaby answered all our questions about the excursions and was very knowledgable about the trips and places to see/go in Monteverde. the girls is was very dedicated to helping the guests and helped us arrange transportation in addition to all the other wonderful services he provided.
Our whole family (5 pax) enjoyed our stay there. It was a great place to come back and relax after spending the day hiking/zip lining around. Even better, the breakfasts were delicious!
We had a wonderful breakfast of our choice. I will always remember the comfy cozy feeling, though, that I had there.
The room was clean and the shower was absolutely amazing in comparison to most of the hotels in Costa Rica.
The hostel is located very close to the center of town and to the bars, supermarket and bus stop.
The kitchen is full equipped, a computer o wi-fi where you can use the internet. I recommend it! It is a great cheap price too!
Sloth Backpackers was great for the price and was safe and clean. Definitely would recommend this to travelers in the area! [:)]

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The hostel is a little place in Santa Elena run by Yorle, a local lady. We had a ncie time staying here - it's clean, quiet and the rooms are comfortable. Nice kitchen which you are free to use, free coffee and tea all day, fast WIFI and a decent breakfast. Ticks all the boxes really.
It's not a party hostel, so if you're 19 and looking to stay up drinking, it's not that kinds of place, but that suited us fine (we're 29 and 30). Because it's a small hostel you end up chatting to the other guests in the kitchen and meeting some interesting people.
Breakfast is sufficient, normally toast with 1 egg and fruit, or pancakes with syrup and fruit, that kinda thing.
Yorle works hard at the hostel to please the guests - she makes the breakfast in the mornings, then cleans the entire hostel. On top of this she's always happy to help with booking tours etc. A few of the reviews have mentioned her being pushy with booking tours. I didn't really find her over-pushy. I mean, she is running a business and the price is the same with her as with a tour agency so it makes sense to just book there. We booked ours through her and had 2 great experiences, the Night Walk and the Canopy Tour.
Overall a good stay at Sloth. It's a nice, new little hostel and deserves to do well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckiboo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonteverdeSlothBB, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you very much, your stay here was really good for me ,your coments make me grow more as a business and as a person and motivates me too keep up going. When ever you want to come back this is your House, Thank you very much Pura vida have a nice day.
Att:Yorle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Our stay here was amazing. Thanks Gaby & Yorle
The staff were wonderfully efficient and helpful, the facilities are excellent, especially considering the price.
The location, not far from "downtown." just at 3 minutes from the Monteverde bus station, near to the best restaurants, supermarkets, souvernirs, stores, banks and more.. you will need to stay in this cheap and comfortable hostel.
Cheap rooms with share bathrooms or Dorms, first time the bathrooms have hot water and are always clean at all times, fully equipped kitchen, orthopedic mattresses and good blankets.
The staff were very friendly, pleasant and helpful offering advice as well as booking trips.
They also provided free internet service which was enabled us to contact home when needed.
The breakfasts provided were amazing, and we especially loved the banana pancakes
Breakfast was very good, nice coffee,Eggs, Omeleth, pancakes and good plate with fruit, the best delicious breakfast!
I highly reccommend staying here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Gyba y Yorle are very nice and helpfull! I loved our room with big windows and the breakfast! Gracias for the great time and organization of out trips! Joanna

Room Tip: down with the view of trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 34 in Santa Elena
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing