We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, homey hostel with wonderful owners. =)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We were lured into this hostel by the name (I am a HUGE sloth fan), and although the namesake of the hostel didn't make an appearance for us, it was well worth the stay. The owner/workers in the hostel are amazing, friendly, down-to-earth people, and it is clear that they work very hard to maintain their business. They obviously enjoy what they do, and they make it clear by their interaction with the guests; one of the owners' friends took my boyfriend and me to see (and climb!) a hollow tree in the forest. It went down as one of THE best experiences I've had in Costa Rica, and because it was located in the middle of the forest, where only natives or lucky explorers might find it, I know we would never have seen it if not for the kindness of the people at the hostel.

The hostel itself is very clean and comfortable, with lots of information on what to do in Monteverde. As someone who lived in Costa Rica for a year and stayed at my fair share of hostels there and in Panama and Nicaragua, I have seen bad and good hostels, and Sloth Backpackers was one of the good ones. It is pretty small compared to some of the other hostels, but if you're looking to just make it a place to sleep and relax in the middle of your adventures (no pool or anything like that, but you're in Monteverde; go explore nature!), it's the place to be.

Another perk of the hostel is that it's a bit "off the beaten path"; we never would have found it if we hadn't come across the owner at the bus stop when we arrived in Monteverde. Some taxi drivers will say that the area is dangerous, and it might appear so because of the lack of lighting and natural surroundings, but it's really, really not. Actually, we found it to be very peaceful (which is just what we needed after so many months at a time in San Jose). The taxi drivers apparently get commission from other hostels for bringing guests, so they try to steer them away from SBP. It's just a short walk from town, maybe five minutes, but it's set back far enough that you don't get any of the noise from party-goers late at night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Averi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

Sloth backpackers is one of the many hotels you can stay during your visit in Santa Elena.
It's only 2 minutes from the downtown though bit steep walk.
Otherwise the owner is very nice lady and she provides a map and full information about both places Santa Elena and Monteverde.
The hostel itself is very cosy, nice and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank editustek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Santa Elena is a small town, so anywhere you stay you'll probably be close to town center. Sloth back packers is no different - just a 2 minute walk to town center. It's on a steep slope, so if you are old or handicapped, not a good place. The atmosphere is nice and the owner and her niece are both warm and friendly. They helped me book tourist attractions at reasonable rates and gave me a nice room to myself for $20, which I think is a good price. I was annoyed that you had to rent a towel for $1, but whatever. The owner is very hardworking- she has her own hostel, her own nail salon (which she sometimes does in the hostel), and her own coffee plantation!! The main lobby has a kitchen which you are free to use, and apparently there is free breakfast although I didn't get to try it. Free WiFi. Tempur-Pedic beds. They watched my bags after check out until I left Santa Elena.

Room Tip: Since it's a little off the main strip, its quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Myself and friends stayed in this hostel for three nights (August 2012) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The dorms are basic but perfectly adequate and extremely clean. There is a fully equipped kitchen with gas stove and the use of plenty of pots/pans. Free use of internet. The lady who runs it was extremely friendly to us and helped organise all of our tours- she really went out of her way to look after us. She also makes nice breakfasts for all the guests in the morning. This hostel is superb value for money and we really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs looked better than ones upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This place is clean and ok BUT the lady in charge is not really a person that you can call nice. She was really pissed of at us from the beginning. The rules are really strict and we missed a common room. The kithen (wich is th common room) close at 9:30pm. Internet is limited at 30 minutes. We didn't found the price for the smile. And to finish, the decoration is really nice for my grandMother. And it's the same place as other places in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antoine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

i've traveled around costa rica a lot in the past month, and this is one of the most welcoming and clean hostels i have come across. like the other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are small and definitely nothing fancy. but, you get what you pay for and more overall. free breakfast, two clean bathrooms, and VERY helpful owners who will assist you with planning your stay in monteverde. (this may include ziplining, night tours, horseback riding, etc.)

i would 100% recommend this hostel to anyone staying in monteverde, but especially to younger travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I would rate this Bed & Breakfast 4/5 because the hosts were very welcoming, Yorle even picked us up at the bus station, and just as we arrived we were able to book all the activities we wanted to do in Monteverde with her. They have the best tour information, everything was as good as it sounded. We payed our night tour and horse ride directly to the host.The only reason I didn't rate this hostel 5/5 is because of the room... It was small with a very low celling with only 5 mattresses on the ground... Anyway, we still enjoyed our stay, the free kitchen was very useful for us and the bathrooms were very clean. The breakfast was delicious (yummy pancakes) and the hosts very very nice !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdarnaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
130 reviews
0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 34 in Santa Elena
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
0 mi away
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
#10 of 34 in Santa Elena
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: £16 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing