We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy, small and so helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, small and so helpful”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights, during a backpacker trip through Costa Rica. The staff was very helpfull from the moment we arrived, which was a great help, since there's a lot of different tours and operators in the area of Monteverde. It's a fine breakfirst and the rooms are clean and decent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinehedensted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    100
    21
    19
    19
See reviews for
13
93
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights, and it was a fantastic choice. Yorle was a fantastic host, and was able to book anything we wanted to do/see while in Santa Elena. Definitely recommend the night hike, it was very fun. The walls are thin so if noise bothers you this might not work out, but it also depends on the other groups staying at that time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenFletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilamate, Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were greeted at the bus stop by Yorle. At check-in, she gave us an overview of the city and activities available in the area. We were able to book every tour with transportation included through her, which made everything really easy. We met a ton of backpackers there, but it wasn't a loud, crazy, party hostel. You can see and feel the dedication Yorle puts into her hostel. I would definitely recommend Sloth backpackers to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarmonyRosales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Sloth Backpackers was one of the best hostels we stayed in Costa Rica, the owner was very helpful and informative

the place is in santa elena, very close to town and activities, if we ever come back to costa rica, we will stay here for sure

great service, thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnga60742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

After living in Costa Rica for 5 months and backpacking my last 2 weeks, I can without a doubt say that Sloth Backpackers was easily the best hostel my friend and I stayed at. When we arrived we were greeted by Yorle who offered pertinent information about Monteverde, (banks, bus station, super markets, and all the best and most economic activities) as well as free tea and fresh coffee! Sloth also lives up to its name - we were able to see a 2-toed sloth right outside the hostel on our very first night there! Monteverde and Santa Elena are beautiful places to visit, but what really made the experience was staying in a place where we felt at home. Clean space, free wifi, free and delicious breakfast, hot showers, and friendly staff. This would be a great place for anyone to stay, young or old, solo or part of a group. I promise you will feel as though you are at home away from home! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Sloth backpackers was wonderful. Hot shower, clean rooms, delicious breakfast prepared for you in the morning included, and answers to any of your questions. Yorle helped us set up our entire stay, from ziplining and coffee tour, to our shuttle out of Monteverde 5 days later. All the activities we did were amazing, but being able to come back afterwards to a hot shower and a welcoming smile were the icing on the cake. I would recommend sloth backpackers to anybody staying in Monteverde, families and friends, solo or groups. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl_gab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We only had a short time in Santa Elena and I am very happy that we found this hostel. We took a long public bus from San Jose and got in much later than I expected. The owner, Yorle unexpectedly came and met us at the station thankfully and walked us to the hostel. She was amazing, hilarious, very chill and super helpful. Quiet rooms, lovely kitchen, great location. She gave us coffee from her own farm in the morning and the pancakes were great. I'd go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcal254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 21 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 35 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 35 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing