We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Nice place, beds are good, blankets are warm the room is spacious and the sanitary is good. The only thing this place really lacks is a place to socialize as the kitchen is only open for a limited time.
Ooh and the funniest toilets I have ever seen!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Peter_de_Bock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    100
    20
    19
    19
See reviews for
13
92
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This place is a Great hostel in a cute town. The accommodations were Clean. There were no surprises and they helped me plan my stay. They offered a nice breakfast and coffee whenever.
And btw, the owner is sweet helpful and will take care of you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeyp614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I shared a room with another traveller at a price of $20 which seemed very reasonable. A free map with tons of information was given to me when I arrived and we also organised many tours with the hostel as well. The owner is very friendly and was always making sure that we were okay.

The kitchen was in good shape and the free breakfast was pretty good too (toast, fruit, eggs etc.)

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JosephFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
424 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Sloth Backpackers in a double private room. It was a great stay. The hostel is well located in the little triangle of "downtown" Santa Elena. Yorle, the owner, was very nice in welcoming us and helping us book tours. She gave great advice about which tours to do. There was a delicious breakfast prepared each morning (eggs or pancakes with lots of fruit). A great place to stay while visiting Monteverde especially with how cheap it is.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York Mills, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I booked for 1 nights but stayed 3 nights ! the staff were all friendly and helpful, my room was immaculate and the facilities were excellent. Hammocks, beautiful gardens, kitchen - all excellent. I felt very welcome, very comfortable, and was very happy there. The central location was convenient, and everything I booked through the hostel happened on time, as planned. I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

My buddies and I liked the place pretty good. Amazing pancake breakfast. Clean room and bathroom. Good price. The only negative thing was the street noise. But for the price, I find it hardly a thing to complain about. I would definitely stay thee again if I ever return to Monteverde.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swampthang01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

After 7 nights in another hostel that had cold shared showers and a leaky roof, it was with sweet relief that I stepped into the hot shower at Sloth Backpackers. For just $20 a night for a private double (our room had a double and a single bed) with a clean bathroom, wifi, and pancakes for breakfast - this really is a good deal.

The owner Yorle was there waiting at the bus stop in the rain to walk people to the hostel and then provided us with maps and as much information as we needed. It was helpful to be able to book all our activities with Yorle, who provided recommendations without being pushy at all. We were also able to book our onwards transfer to La Fortuna and get our washing done - all without leaving the hostel!

My only small negative would be that it can get a little loud in the front rooms with the traffic from the main road and people coming and going in neighboring rooms and the kitchen. However I think that this would be unavoidable anywhere in town and is the price you pay for a good location within walking distance to the main restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 next to the kitchen. I am unsure if there are private rooms upstairs, however if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMonoLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 21 in Monteverde
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
1,054 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing