We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away for your own sake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay away for your own sake”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I always try to be positive whatever happens. So, when we arrived at the place and the lady told us that the fee was $2 up than the expected, I took a deep breath and payed it. When I saw that the room was too small for us, I took another deep breath and coped with it. But, at some point, the annoying things were so many that I ended up freaking in anger before the day was over.

I'm amazed by all the good reviews because our experience was quite different. After thinking for a while, I found the reason. If you're a foreigner and you book tours, you'll get the best service. But if you plan the trip on your own and have the plus of being costarican, be prepared to have the worst service of your life.

The owner was very rude to us. She didn't give us the free breakfast (and expected us to pay $4 extra for it) alleging that it wasn't included in the private bedroom fee (which we didn't asked). She kept speaking loudly right in front of our bedroom until 11:30 pm (what is curfew?). She even told me through the phone that she threw away some stuff I had left on the bedroom (which wasn't true because she returned it to me, but what is the need to say something like that??). In life, you better treat everyone the best you can, you never know who you are dealing with. One of us is planning on visiting Monteverde again soon and guess which is the last place he's going.

On other aspects, the rooms are not clean. The sound of cars won't let you sleep. The kitchen is nice, but if you use it don't expect any smile.

I know that for the price you can't expect to be treated like a superstar. But still for the same price you can get a decent attention at many other hostels of the area. We stayed at another place and spent a wonderful night, if you were thinking I'm just an overreacter. If you don't want bad reviews don't keep on answering them with excuses, just do your job right.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dhanimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    100
    21
    19
    19
See reviews for
13
93
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

It's clean, short ways to all the interesting things in santa elena/monteverde. The owner Yorle can book trips to the national reserves for the same price as in the park itself.
Plus she showed us a sloth in the surroundings!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank timmaede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Nice place, beds are good, blankets are warm the room is spacious and the sanitary is good. The only thing this place really lacks is a place to socialize as the kitchen is only open for a limited time.
Ooh and the funniest toilets I have ever seen!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Peter_de_Bock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This place is a Great hostel in a cute town. The accommodations were Clean. There were no surprises and they helped me plan my stay. They offered a nice breakfast and coffee whenever.
And btw, the owner is sweet helpful and will take care of you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeyp614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I shared a room with another traveller at a price of $20 which seemed very reasonable. A free map with tons of information was given to me when I arrived and we also organised many tours with the hostel as well. The owner is very friendly and was always making sure that we were okay.

The kitchen was in good shape and the free breakfast was pretty good too (toast, fruit, eggs etc.)

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JosephFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
429 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Sloth Backpackers in a double private room. It was a great stay. The hostel is well located in the little triangle of "downtown" Santa Elena. Yorle, the owner, was very nice in welcoming us and helping us book tours. She gave great advice about which tours to do. There was a delicious breakfast prepared each morning (eggs or pancakes with lots of fruit). A great place to stay while visiting Monteverde especially with how cheap it is.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York Mills, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I booked for 1 nights but stayed 3 nights ! the staff were all friendly and helpful, my room was immaculate and the facilities were excellent. Hammocks, beautiful gardens, kitchen - all excellent. I felt very welcome, very comfortable, and was very happy there. The central location was convenient, and everything I booked through the hostel happened on time, as planned. I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 21 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 35 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 35 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing