We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here! Yorle was great in getting tours booked for me...and changing the times when I needed to. She really knows the area well! I also appreciate the fact that she has a heart for businesses that are not the most popular destinations...but ones that are run by local families. My place was clean and comfortable. The kitchen small but accommodating. I would ask that there be more consideration for gluten free options for breakfast, although I bring food bars etc knowing that I may run into places that are not able to provide this. Overall, I had a great time in Monteverde and Hotel Sloth was a part of that!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank huntermary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was one of my favorite places that I stayed in Costa Rica. The owner, Yorle, is seriously awesome and made our experience amazing! She will tell you the good places to eat, and you can book great tours through the front office. Also, the free breakfast in the morning was fantastic!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I went to Santa Elena at a high season so I had to pay $35/night for a private room that doesn't even have a hot shower. I ended up paying C21,000 - $42 for one night equivalent because I paid with a Debit Card.

The kitchen is super clean and have a lots of kitchen utensils but no much space to hang-out, they have this two-car garage size front yard that has 4 swings and a nook but aside from that there's nothing much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great hostel! Clean, nice rooms. Even come with towels! GREAT prices. And the owner Yorle, is amazing. So helpful and accommodating. Staying here was one of my best hostel experiences.. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here in June, the owner is really nice and very helpful. wifi was a good speed. Close to all the shops you would need.

also saw a sloth climbing on the power lines just outside within a couple of hours of getting there living up to its name!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TroddlaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Upon arrival the owner sat us down and showed us a map of the area and tried to convince us to purchase a ton of possible tours and shuttles. She was pushy in the beginning but after the first day she stopped pushing everything on us and was cool to talk to (in Spanish, her English seemed pretty bad) She recommends her mom's restaurant, Soda La Amistad, to everyone - which isn't the cheapest or that great (I understand her reasoning though but I would avoid that place). Breakfast was very tasty, the cook/ cleaning woman was super nice. She serves fruit and toast and the morning accompanied by something else. Really delicious banana pancakes one day. The hostel was really noisy at certain points as a lot of people woke up super early for tours (like 6AM and were shouting outside). Although the town is tiny we could hear a ton of traffic at night. Also if you want to nap at all, it wouldn't work as there is loud music playing allt he time. There were some bugs in the room, but nothing that bothered us greatly. One big plus is that the place has HOT WATER! We stayed in 4 hostels in Costa Rica and this was the only place we stayed in that we could take a warm shower in. The place had Wifi but virtually didn't work in our room.

Room Tip: Better to have room toward the back, as far from street as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Rooms basic but very clean, great breakfasts- lovely home made pancakes, although would have liked some other more savoury options (after a few days of so much sweet food, I started to really crave salt!). Great to be able to book tours from the b&b and very helpful owner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123aliced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#11 of 36 in Santa Elena
136 reviews
0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 36 in Santa Elena
741 reviews
0 mi away
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
#9 of 36 in Santa Elena
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Backpackers
Monteverde Backpackers
#14 of 36 in Santa Elena
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel La Suerte
Hostel La Suerte
#27 of 80 in Monteverde
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: £10 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing