We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hotel is run by lovely owner - Yorle. Location - well the town is so small that every hotel there is in good location.lol Place is spotless and decorated with hand made ornaments, which are lovely and give this place the homely feel. Breakfast was amazing -the best so far during my trip all over Costa Rica! Hotel offers free tea and coffee all they long! Yorle will help you with organising trips, and your further journey. Felt like visiting relatives rather than staying in the hotel. Only regret that I didn't stay there a bit longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annawielga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    100
    21
    19
    19
See reviews for
13
93
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Overall I really enjoyed my stay at sloth backpackers. The dorm was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was filling, though I have never seen eggs cooked in so much oil. The coffee was great but as with everywhere in Central America i am missing real milk or cream... The main thing this hostel is missing is a place for guests to hang out, read, etc. The hammock chairs on the driveway are not that inviting. The owner Yorle is lovely and very helpful with tour bookings, recommendations, etc.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was really disappointed by this hostel, the 'free' breakfast you have to pay extra for and the lady was very rude and unhelpful. The dog is cute and the hammocks are nice but my god the worst night sleep ever! It sounds as if you are on a highway, it's so loud and the lady was outside our room speaking loudly in Spanish until 2am. The beds were like sleeping on wooden planks, so uncomfortable and very 'cosy'. There are definitely better places to stay in Monteverde!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whickx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Comfortable beds, very clean, kitchen, blankets, towels, hot water, free coffee and tea, ok breakfast, nice place to sit outside, You can book all the activities from there! And also a cute dog. I recommend going there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaelis105 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

B&B owner was very helpful to arrange our stay in the best way and very friendly to feel welcomed! She has lovely dog! Very nice cleaning lady as well!
She recommended us to visit yearly festival that was happening during our stay and that was just great experience!
Though be prepared that is sweet though bathroom needs some renovation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IevaNore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allenspark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here! Yorle was great in getting tours booked for me...and changing the times when I needed to. She really knows the area well! I also appreciate the fact that she has a heart for businesses that are not the most popular destinations...but ones that are run by local families. My place was clean and comfortable. The kitchen small but accommodating. I would ask that there be more consideration for gluten free options for breakfast, although I bring food bars etc knowing that I may run into places that are not able to provide this. Overall, I had a great time in Monteverde and Hotel Sloth was a part of that!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank huntermary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was one of my favorite places that I stayed in Costa Rica. The owner, Yorle, is seriously awesome and made our experience amazing! She will tell you the good places to eat, and you can book great tours through the front office. Also, the free breakfast in the morning was fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 21 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 35 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 35 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing