We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty local food, cheap prices”
Review of Sabor Tico

Sabor Tico
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very tasty local food, cheap prices”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Interior is not that attractive on first impression, but man, this food tastes really good! Local meals, big portions and cheap prices. Friendly service. Especially try the fresh juices, they are delicious!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KrissCrossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,011
    616
    207
    60
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wish we had dined here every night in Monteverde”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Based on reviews we went here the second night of our stay in Santa Elena near Monteverde. It was even better than the rave reviews. We went back on the fourth and final night of our stay.

Very, very reasonably priced high quality mostly local Costa Rican cuisine cooked by the owners and the sizeable portions (our 9 and 12 year olds split meals) served by friendly staff in a clean restaurant frequented by locals and tourists in the know. Our only regret is that we tried another establishment the first night.

Excellent by any standard.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nextportofcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neunkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great !”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We liked it very much. Excellent food and cool drinks. Quick and very friendly service. Cosy and clean. We'd highly recommend this place to have a great dinner

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Just like home”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My wife is from Colombia, not South Carolina so this was a must try. We found this restaurant not from Trip Advisor but from our local cab driver. As in most Colombian restaurants the food is plentiful and the flavors robust. This is exactly what we found at Sabor Tico. For my wife she had no need for the menu, after a brief conversation the food started coming. I have learned over the years to just accept it. I did not know the names of what I was eating but I can say everything was delicious. When the check arrived a very, very reasonable price was had. Yes outside the main part of town but a short walk or brief cab will get you there.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cozysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for Money, Good Tasting food”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This small restaurant much outside the town center was a trip advisor find. It offers authentic costa rican cuisine. The delivery of food does take some time as they seem to be making everything from scratch once the order is placed. We both ordered an appetizer/snack and an entree as well as a drink each. The entree was good, nothing to die for, but, it was fresh, cooked to order and piping hot. The snacks - were truly outstanding. Finally the price - with all this - It was under $20

Would recommend atleast one visit

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shyamvenugopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabor Tico also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Sabor Tico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing