We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired of the daily grind? Come here”

Cafe Monteverde Coffee Tour
Ranked #7 of 18 things to do in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 568 helpful votes
“Tired of the daily grind? Come here”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Costa Rican coffee is grown on predominantly small farms, or "fincas". As an optional activity during our stay at Santa Elena, our tour group visited one such local coffee plantation. A Central American coffee-growing country with a well-deserved reputation for fine coffee, Costa Rica produces wet-processed Arabica coffees. After being harvested, the ripe cherries are immediately taken to state-of-the-art processing facilities, known as "beneficios," where the wet-method processing begins.

Our well-informed guide took us step by step through the entire coffee farming, harvesting and production process (punctuated by samples here and there). We also learned (and sampled) about chocolate as well as cane sugar processing.

But what set this tour apart was the passion in the voice of our guide concerning responsible farming that no man can match. Our tour group came out of this tour with a better appreciation of coffee production and, seeing the bigger picture, the finer aspects of ethical farming, sustainable agriculture and environmental responsibility. Tired of the daily grind? Come here. I came out with seven bags of Costa Rica's Finest. Recommended. Grade A-minus.

.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    39
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Callao Salvaje, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than just coffee”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The tour did teach us a lot about coffee - different types, drying procedures, roasting, etc. However, I would recommend it even if you are not a coffee fan because it was about much more than just coffee. Our guide, Felix, was clearly passionate about the environment and how to best protect it. It was amazing to drink a cup of coffee prepared with hot water heated up by the energy contained in the gases produced by the farm pigs! A beautiful place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TenerifeTraveller201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This tour was a nice surprise. The guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and fun. We viewed the coffee plantation, saw how chocolate is processed and even tried a taste of sugar cane alcohol. The views from this place are amazing!! Loved the cloud forest in this area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JessB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Inspiring visit to sustainable operation”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Interesting and fun. Guillermo is passionate about running a sustainable operation and teaching others about it. We learned so much about how coffee grows and how it's harvested. Wonderful to know that school children come to learn there. And there were adorable baby animals on the farm. The tour ended with delicious coffee and pancakes. The excellence of this tour was a lovely surprise!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“gallivantin”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The coffee tour was very nicely done!

We learned a lot about coffee, cocoa and sugarcane.

Our guide was friendly and informative.

The coffee was delicious and so was our experience with cacao and chocolate!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gallivantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Monteverde Coffee Tour also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cafe Monteverde Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing