We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montana Monteverde
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would return”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed here on excursion in 2004 with a study abroad program. Traveling here was nothing like I've ever experience before...very rough roads and we were on a charter bus. The hotel is nice but not luxurious by any means (and that’s ok, now...not so much then). The rooms are comfortable; however, the first night we were greeted by a huge tarantula which freaked us out. In the morning, we took cold showers (no hot water) and were served a decent breakfast. Later, we called taxis to take to the various tourist locations (museums, zip line tours (highly recommended), etc.) located on the mountain.

That night, we went to a restaurant on the mountain (cannot remember the name but I believe it was the only nightclub) for dinner (food was good), Later, it turned into a night club. We had a great time...so great that we missed the last taxi up (last taxi left at 10, not sure if this is still the case).

The next morning, we had breakfast and were on our way.

Suggestions: Bring raincoat and multiple clothes/t-shirts, socks as I was always wet and didn't have enough dry clothes to change into and boots/sneakers for excursions.

I was a little prissy then and haven't experienced much in the form of traveling. Looking back it was a great experience (except the spider and the walk home) and I would definitely go again. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCH2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    99
    91
    23
    11
See reviews for
57
119
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We arrived from Arenal thru boat and a ride up along the winding steep roadstto the high cloud forest of Monteverde .The sceneries we passed by were beautiful reminds me me of our country roads way back home where i grew which i frequently travel so Im not new to this kind of terrain.Reached the lodge and we were again lucky to be given an upgraded room it was low season!The room was wide had two bigs beds for two small people :-) great again must be lucky to travel at this time of the year.The room is clean big bath tubs though the beddings a little hmm must be the cold weather where you get the odor maybe needs to have it more sun dried....Though basically it was clean and beautiful.

Room Tip: stay at the main hotel you'll get the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gutzie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level 6 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at the Montana late August 2011. We had 2 rooms upstairs in the main hotel building. We received a large discount because it was off season and we took 2 rooms. While not as luxurious as Fodor's would have it, they were very comfortable and clean, with nice large bathrooms, and tv's with numerous channels, including English. The large windows and balcony were good for bird watching, as they overlooked the large cloud forest on the hotel's grounds. There were 3 computers for guests providing free internet.The breakfast was great, including eggs, pancakes, french toast and fresh fruit at less than $4 a person. We found the desk folk very friendly and helpful, and the guide they set us up with found us a late season Quetzal. We stayed an extra night because we liked it so much.

Room Tip: Our rooms were upstairs in the main building. There were also rooms in annex building which we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed here two nights. It's very close to all there is to do around there. The view is amazing. There are no official vegetarian options for dinner, so you will have to make a special request. The staff is very nice. The rooms are spacious, with huge tubs! There's nothing fancy here (it's too remote), but you'll be glad to arrive after the 20 mile drive on the bumpy dirt road. The only disappointing thing here was the breakfast - no buffet. The cut fruit probably sits overnight, and therefore has a weird taste. Otherwise, the food is good, although you have few options.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickLee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtown, pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The road to Monteverde is not an easy one. If you get car sick EVER, bring something with you!! I've been there 3x now and this trip up was probably the worst. One of our friends brought a patch for motion sickenss and was fine though. It is a Rocky Road 90% of the way up. The journey (if you can handle it) is a beautiful one and worth it for the cloud forest canopy tours! Hotel Montana is OK. The reception desk people are not particularly warm, but the waitresses in the restaurant are AWESOME and extremely accomodating! They even packed our breakfast to go when we were running late for our tour. Monteverde's climate is strange. It can be warm (yet damp..rainforest-like dampness) and cold (still damp). The bedding in this hotel is no exception. It is also damp and musky. The rooms were nice with a beautiful view, but the bedding REALLY needs to be updated. Old blankets and comforters (while cabinesque) were sort of gross. Also, the cabins are not well labeled and make for a confusing trek down the mountain side to find which way to go. Tip...pack lightly, you won't want to drag a heavy suitcase up the hill upon checking out...haha!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babybear96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The good parts are that the building is nice, the location good, and that we got a very good and spacious room. Now we come to the bad part. Before travelling to Costa Rica, I was told me that one can count on the advice of the local hotels front desk - this hotel taught me that you better don’t. Bottom line, I asked their recommendation for a tour to Monteverde Cloud Forest, I was warmly recommended one, and it turned out that the tour was in a totally different forest which was not interesting, with a young and very inexperienced guide, and that we saw no animals no birds. As I felt cheated badly, upon my return to the hotel, I asked the guy why he did this to me, and then he said that this was a misunderstanding, he explained me clearly that this is NOT Monteverde Cloud Forest. I showed him the list of tours that he gave me, carrying the hotel logo, and listing this tour in the Monteverde Cloud Forest chapter, but then he said that I am bothering him and wasting his time. From this day on, I stopped asking the hotels for recommendation, and instead used recommendations form travel guides and from Internet – these worked much better.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariusG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Elena hotels

San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed here as part of our Gate 1 trip...Getting to Mondeverde was hell, but once we were there, this was a very nice place to stay, if quiet...we and one other couple were the only guests. The room was clean and quiet, with the occasional insect if you left the door open, yes folks this is the tropics and they make the bugs big! The breakfast in particular was very substantial and a large two person tub was nice for taking hot baths (it is cold up at this altitude at night!).

They also had a nice path to walk around on property and we did this and saw some birds, butterflies, and even two agoutis, so. all together pretty nice!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deedumans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
676 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana Monteverde

Property: Hotel Montana Monteverde
Address: Este Escuela Rafael Arguedas 200 | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Pacific Province of Puntarenas at 4.500 Feet above the sea level, Hotel de Montana Monteverde offers 42 comfortable rooms as well as a Jacuzzi, Sauna, Conference Room,internet, Bar and Restaurant which offers the special flavor and charm of home cooked Costa Rican cuisine.Adjacent to the hotel is a 15-hacres private forest, offering excellent view and trails, including a small pond for the guests enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montana Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Monteverde Hotel
Montana Monteverde Santa Elena
Hotel Montana Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing