We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful View, Average Amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montana Monteverde
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful View, Average Amenities.”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We lucked out on our room as it was located furthest away from the busy road. The room had one full wall of windows which opened to a quaint patio. Then nothing but a gorgeous view of the mountain side. This was the best the room had to offer. There was no internet in the room, be it free or for purchase. The only WIFI was located in the lobby and it was not a very strong signal. The bathroom of the room was outdated and the per room hot water heater lasted for only one quick shower, which resulted in split shower shifts...and one really cold shower. The on premises bar was neat with a wide selection and fun atmosphere. The hotel restaurant was a bit on the expensive side, but nothing out of the ordinary for hotel restaurants. The workers in the restaurant were both very accommodating and very nice. The only meals we had were breakfast and they were both very good, the selection were slight. Every table got a big plate of fruit, yummy. Every table got juice and coffee, yummy. Every table got the option of three breakfast choices, with eggs; Pancakes, Gallos Pintos, or French Toast. The food was very good and the hot chocolate was worth it's weight in gold.

There is a great walking trail on the premises, that takes you through some typical woods of the area, we saw animals and many birds. The hotel is located within a 10-15 min walk to the center of Santa Elena. It's hilly and a lot of the walk is on the road while cars whip around the corners, but walking in this manner was very common no matter where you were located. Overall not an unpleasant place to stay. Many good qualities, with only minor issues with the bathroom in the room.

Room Tip: Request a room at the bottom of the hill, away from the view of other rooms. Beautiful, and you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    99
    90
    23
    11
See reviews for
55
119
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed in the main building on the second floor. Our room was lovely, with a nice balcony overlooking the cloud forest. It also had a two-person bath tub with jets, which was a nice way to warm up after our cold hike. We did not have any issues with traffic sounds--but we live downtown in a city and our house is never absent outside noise, so perhaps we are just used to it.

The hotel helped us to book our zip line tour and tour to the cloud forest. They also stored our luggage in a locked room and found a small screwdriver for us to use to fix something on our camera.

The restaurant next door- Chimera- is highly recommended for a good dinner. The restaurant in the hotel was reasonably priced and had good service.

Overall, we really enjoyed our one night stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miche60605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Built on a hillside, our rooms had balconies that offered long range views all the way to the ocean. Getting to the rooms was a bit of a trick, though, as the roads were unpaved and rough and it was a bit of an uphill walk to the main building with spacious dining room. There were very few other guests present while we were there - don't recall seeing any others there during our two breakfasts. These were good, BTW, served family style with fresh fruit and excellent French toast. The staff was attentive and helpful. Centrally placed PCs provided free internet service.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to offer wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pittsford_NYMillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

hotel has great location with views of hills and cloud forest, very near the main parks and sights, had great sunsets.We had upgraded room which was excellent

Room Tip: upgrade if possible rooms good size with great views and kingsize bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallsally2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is one of the oldest hotels in Monteverde, from the 70's. The current owner is a French guy, who seems he is a bit tired of running it. When we arrived we felt that the place was desert: the lobby and restaurant are huge but lack furnitures, some decor, and something to make it look alive.
Nevertheless, the front desk guy was polite and responsive to everything we requested.
We got the "standard" room, because it was Christmas weekend and there were no more Superiors.
The views from the outside gallery are beautiful, but the rooms are really...standard!
They have nothing else than the bed, one night stand and a small table. The bathroom is very small and outdated, and the worst part was that it was very cold outside, and the windows are composed by narrow strips of glass, therefore, it was freezing. We could not take a shower during our two days stay!
We also had one spider walking on my pillow, but it is ok...this is the Cloud Forest, right?
Beds and pillows were a bit uncomfortable.
Breakfast was good, cooked for us right when we arrived, which is much better than the buffet style that sits for hours in a tray. They serve scrambled eggs, fruits, "gallo pinto" (typical rice and beans from Costa Rica), toasts, and a very tasty tropical fruit smoothie. Also pancakes and french toast.
We had lunch when we arrived: nothing special, and the restaurant was completely empty. Nevertheless, the view is amazing from there.
We had dinner in Chimera, an excellent tapas restaurant two block from the hotel in direction to the town, very good food and reasonable price.
Taxis are not expensive, and they arrive in a few minutes after the front desk called them.
They also provided a couple of telephone number we needed, and a telephone to call and make our reservations. You can also book some tours with them.
If you plan to visit Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve (you should, it is the highlight of this area), I recommend you to go with a guided tour, or you will not see any animal. They know how and where to spot them. Unfortunately you need to get up early, because they start 7.30 AM. The reason is that you can watch more birds and animals early, and that the Reserve has some quota and closes afterwards, to avoid big crowds disturbing the wildlife.
The hotel is currently under construction, it is a bit unpleasant when you arrive because they are demolishing the front building. It will be good when they finish, because it is currently a bit outdated, although they have just one worker working very slow...I don't think they will finish too soon.

Room Tip: Ask for Superior rooms, try to avoid the Standard ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fercho29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a Superior room which was in one of several newer looking buildings, not in the main hotel. The hotel is a 3 minute cab ride into Santa Elena & cost about $2. The room was clean and spacious with a great view from the balcony. But it was minimal as far as amenities such as even a clock or a coffee maker. There was a fridge, though. We like to have a safe in our room, but there was none. They did keep valuables for us at the desk. The included breakfast has several hot items served family style at the table. It was good, not great. We also had lunch, which seemed expensive. The service overall was very good.

Room Tip: The "Superior" room really is is superior. Ask to be in the main building if you have trou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ztaaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Montana in Monteverde for two nights. I could not figure out whether the hotel was being still built or whether they were doing renovations to it: on one hand they have a large green deep bathtub, something from earlier years, but on the other hand underneath the main building it looked that they were doing some construction. Some areas on the ground also seemed not to have been finished and still looked rough. However, the view from the balcony on our room on the second floor was spectacular! You can overlook the shoddy craftsmanshift of the painting and construction when you see the beautiful view you can get from your room.
The rooms are spacious as well as the bathroom. The restaurant in the main building is enormous and there were not many guests when we stayed there.
It is not right into town, so you must either have a car or have come with an excursion in a tour.
There is a great Italian restaurant on the way to town not far from the hotel. It was great eating there.
The location is quiet and the premisses are acceptable for a few nights.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana Monteverde

Property: Hotel Montana Monteverde
Address: Este Escuela Rafael Arguedas 200 | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Pacific Province of Puntarenas at 4.500 Feet above the sea level, Hotel de Montana Monteverde offers 42 comfortable rooms as well as a Jacuzzi, Sauna, Conference Room,internet, Bar and Restaurant which offers the special flavor and charm of home cooked Costa Rican cuisine.Adjacent to the hotel is a 15-hacres private forest, offering excellent view and trails, including a small pond for the guests enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montana Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Monteverde Hotel
Montana Monteverde Santa Elena
Hotel Montana Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing