We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montana Monteverde
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We spent one night at this hotel as part of a fly-drive package. This is a moderately large hotel complex which has several kinds of accomodations, from spartan to mid-range, housed in about a dozen buildings. All of them overlook the descending landscape with a beautiful view that extends all the way to the Gulf of Nicoya on the Pacific. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the entrance to the Monteverde Preserve.

The service at the front desk was great. They assisted us in plotting our route south to Manuel Antonio, and advised us on our ability to make the journey to the next gas station near CR1 since there is no gasoline available in Monteverde or Santa Elena.

There are limited and expensive dining options nearby and in Santa Elena, which is only a 10 minute walk. We decided to eat at the hotel restaurant, the food and service were very good, and reasonably priced for the quality. Our breakfast was included and was also excellent.

The rooms in the main building are roomy, clean, and comfortable. They all have a balcony looking towards the Pacific, which is a great view if it's clear enough. There's TV channels in several languages, too.

I recommend this hotel as a good value and a fine base camp to explore the area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrxcitement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2009

I had read lots of mixed reivews about Montana de Monteverde, but stuck with this choice since we booked late and didn't have time to research other limited options. No major regrets, we're not that picky though are used to higher-end places generally. Since one reviewer complained about bugs, we did a thorough check for bed bugs and other creatures and found none (did see a cockroach and lots of ants in the rm later, but no biggie). The bedding definitely could be updated, but they seemed clean and didn't smell. The curtains wouldn't close which was a problem, since it gets light so early and the entire wall was glass with a sliding door to the balconey looking out to the west coast of CR (nice view). I rigged a solution by using a hair elastic band and "tying" two panels together (pinched the fabric together and secured with the elastic).
The property ground is not manicured and looks a bit 3rd world-ish (imagine that!) and the parking areas by our room cluster is unfinished (dirt and rocks). We did a night hike right here down the hill from the hotel after we arrived yesterday ($17/adult and $10/child). We chose this hike since the Monteverde reserve was $20/person with no child discount and heard others say you'll see similar things and it's better to start at 5:30pm vice 6pm. Also had learned that the other 2 night walks available are in the same area as our hotel property's reserve and they were more expensive.
Our guide was very good and informative. We learned a lot and saw a tarantula, lots of crickets, leaf-cutter ants, brown jay(?), the racoon-like animal (on drive near Arenal, we stopped our car and joined others in feeding a cluster of these cute animals - ok, let the criticism fly), but no sloth (ok, since we saw a few during our fun whitewater rafting trip in La Fortuna - Wave Expedition $65pp plus 10%discount adult and 20%off for kids thru our hotel).
In reading other reviews about the Monteverde Reserve night walk, it sounds like the experience was comparable, but we avoided the hassle of driving a rough steep rd in the dark and paid $54 vice $80 for our family. I know I risk being villified for this comment, but I think even $54 for a family of 4 is over-priced for a 2-hr guided walk (no transportation necessary). Yes, the guide was knowledgable, but he's probably only paid $5/hr and there were a total of 10 people in our overall group. I appreciate that locals get a discount or don't even have to pay for some activities, but the mark-up for tourists is ridiculous.
I stray from the topic of this hotel...... the location is good and convenient if you have your own car, but if walking to town, it's quite far and steep - not to mention dangerous as there're no sidewalks and the rds are not lit.
The friendly receptionist gave me a one page list of activities and prices, which was useful as our other hotel (Arenal Volcano Inn) didn't have such a sheet and I felt like a pain asking the busy receptionists about this and that and they'd have to call the tour company to check prices.
I think we are paying $134/night in peak season - haven't yet experienced the breakfast which is included , so will update the review later. We are skipping the monteverde reserve completely, since we heard so many folks say they didn't see much even with a guide and we'd already gotten enough out of the night walk last night. today we are headed to the selvaverde adventure park for the canopy zip line and suspension bridges (both activities- $210 total for 2 adults and 2 kids; booked directly in the park's tour office in santa elena)

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BilltheGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Hotel was nice... the rooms were very roomy.
Breakfast was served in very large portions, we actually had to tell them to give us less food.
Some good restaurants within walking distance (right next to hotel on main road).
Definitely try ziplining, hanging bridges... (Selvatura Tours)
Do a guided tour of the Monteverde Cloud Forest. I recommend a guided tour only because the guides will be able to tell you some info, as well as point out things (butterflies, insects, plants, trees, etc) that you would probably not even notice.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsetter_NYC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We recently stayed at the Montana Monteverde for 2 nights during a trip to Costa Rica. The room wasn't extraordinary but was quite adequate (in other words, it's not a luxury hotel but was clean and comfortable). We were almost the only guests during our time there, so it was very quiet. It's a 5-minute walk to a couple of restaurants in Monteverde and a 5-10 mintue drive to the small but busy little town of Santa Elena. Breakfast was good and staff was helpful with planning and booking our activities. There is no pool, which wasn't a concern to us but worth nothing if this is important to you. We really enjoyed the nearby Monteverde Butterfly garden!

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Travel4Fun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Except for the hotel staff, this place is a dump. Believe the other reviewers who mention soiled bed linens (yup), smelly rooms (some sort of nostril-burning chemical smell that may be a cleaner or exterminating agent) and bugs (we had them, too). The rooms are more than dated, they are disgusting and not clean. The "pond" behind our room had polluted water and no one seems to have mentioned the lack of air conditioning at this place. Our first day there a dog left a mess on the sidewalk just outside the restaurant and it was still there three days later when we left. The doors have a very flimsy button lock on them and the grounds are not well maintained. The food is very ordinary and the ONLY redeeming quality about this hotel is the friendliness and competence of the staff. not enough to bring me back or recommend this place when there are many others nearby that are MUCH better for less money. don't waste your time here.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guidob663a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We really enjoyed our hotel in Monteverde. The Hotel Montana Monteverde had a great location and adequate rooms. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful. They went out of their way to be accommodating. We saw an olingo, coatis, and agoutis on the night tour as well as some birds and insects. The rooms are dated, but the views and location are great. The breakfast is also quite good. We definitely would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfchangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We spent 2 nights here and after the journey over arenal lake and through some of the most amazing mountainside with the worse roads I have ever experienced,we were grateful to find comfort at this hotel.
It is a bit tired in parts of the hotel but the renovated main building is ok, the dining area was lacking in warmth and atmosphere,but the food was very good and excellently served.
The manager wanders around and does his best to be friendly but I don't think this is in his nature, he allowed me to use their office to access the internet and we spoke and I got the impression he does not give a fig about any reviews he won't change anything.The staff are very hard working and never stop.We walked the hotels trail and saw lots of leaf cutting ants . There is a park about 10 minutes walk away near the butterfly place we would recommend paying the $10 for, here we saw monkeys, waterfalls views and various birds.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarazac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.2 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana Monteverde

Address: Este Escuela Rafael Arguedas 200 | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range: £63 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Pacific Province of Puntarenas at 4.500 Feet above the sea level, Hotel de Montana Monteverde offers 42 comfortable rooms as well as a Jacuzzi, Sauna, Conference Room,internet, Bar and Restaurant which offers the special flavor and charm of home cooked Costa Rican cuisine.Adjacent to the hotel is a 15-hacres private forest, offering excellent view and trails, including a small pond for the guests enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Montana Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Monteverde Hotel
Montana Monteverde Santa Elena
Hotel Montana Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing