We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing really wrong with this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montana Monteverde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montana Monteverde
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing really wrong with this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

We stayed in the main hotel. Rooms were nice. Wonderful view of the mountains all the way to the Bay. Restaurants are within walking distance and were good. You can hike by yourself on this property (or maybe it's off the property) past the yellow buildings on the right - you will find a path. Said they have an indoor hot tub, but we never found it. Unfortunately no nightlife or music. Very few tourists - kind of made it nice. Watch out for the Polisia along the Pan American Highway if you are driving to the Pacific Coast.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SailingTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    97
    89
    23
    11
See reviews for
55
118
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

When we walked in, the reception area was spectacular. The staff is friendly and booked our Cloud Forest tours for us. On site is an over priced restaurant. The on site bar attracted several locals, we seemed to be the only guests there (which was fine!) Great views from all the rooms. We stayed in a standard room. It was clean, but very dated. No internet available, but an internet café is within walking distance. The tapas restaurant a few doors down is excellent. In hindsight I wish we had stayed closer to Santa Elena, just to be closer to stuff and have more eating options.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

We had a standard room which offered little in the way of amenities...no TV. Our room was clean but dated. The bathroom was in need of a re-do and seemed more like what you would find in a cabin. Nevertheless, our 3 night stay was great. The views were outstanding and we only really needed the room for sleeping. Breakfast service started at 6:30AM which let us have an early start to all our activities. Although not bothered by road noise, the local birds started their singing just before dawn. We never slept past 5:30AM. The staff was always cordial and helpful. I suggest tours of the Cheese Factory which gives you an excellent history of the area. If you don't take the tour, go taste the great milkshakes in their small store. We also suggest the El Trapiche (sugar mill) tour if you want a synopsis of the local agriculture. It's like being welcomed by a Costa Rican family. Use guides for any hiking tours in the parks. It's amazing how much they see, hear and point out.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VEC24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

Had a beautiful view of the Gulf of Nicoya from our balcony. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was unbelieveable (the tub was massive). The staff were extremely helpful and friendly (provided us with inexpensive box lunchs and arranged for a shuttle bus to pick us up for our trip to the canopy tour). Breakfasts were great, and the one dinner we had was not only very reasonably priced, but it was superb ( you absolutely must try the fish entree ... the best fish we've ever had !!! ) We also recommend the night tour leaving from the hotel (saw a tarantula in it's nest, leaf cutter ants, a two-toed sloth and coati).

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationing4Sanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

My wife, two children and I stayed at the Montana the night before a visit to the Cloud Forest Reserve. I am not sure how many people were in the hotel but there wasn't anyone but us in the dining room and it was rainy and windy outside. Dinner was adequate--limited choices but adequate. The room was spartan-tile floor, two bed, a chair and bench--just a place to sleep. The winds were high that evening and we heard a constant banging of something from the roof so it was noisy enough to make sleeping a challenge. Breakfast was great-fruits, toast, scrambled eggs, and a great French Toast. Staff was friendly and can help with arrangements to the Cloud Forest--cab fare to the forest round trip is $16. If you are looking for or used to rooms that you can relax in and read then look elsewhere--this is a good place to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

We stayed here for one night after escaping our ant-infested hotel at Playa Tamarindo. Probably as a result of our last minute reservation (and the fact that it was peak season in Costa Rica), the only rooms available to us were the standard rooms which are essentially a room in a long cabin. There was a great view from our front porch and the window, and the rooms were clean.

However, I found the room to be quite tired, especially the washroom which had broken toilet seats and a shower which did not drain properly. The entire atmosphere in the washroom was depressing, and I was glad to be going the next day, despite the great view.

Due to our short stay, we were not able to take advantage of the hiking trails on site, although I would have liked to try them. I would give this place another change next time, but would insist on a better room.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiquitawonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

The view we had was amazing, it was close enough to town ($2 cab ride) and very affordable. I thought we got a good value for our money

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiBrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
1.2 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 23 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana Monteverde

Property: Hotel Montana Monteverde
Address: Este Escuela Rafael Arguedas 200 | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Pacific Province of Puntarenas at 4.500 Feet above the sea level, Hotel de Montana Monteverde offers 42 comfortable rooms as well as a Jacuzzi, Sauna, Conference Room,internet, Bar and Restaurant which offers the special flavor and charm of home cooked Costa Rican cuisine.Adjacent to the hotel is a 15-hacres private forest, offering excellent view and trails, including a small pond for the guests enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Montana Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Monteverde Hotel
Montana Monteverde Santa Elena
Hotel Montana Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing