We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arco Iris Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$143
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$111
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
US$259
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (713)
Filter reviews
713 results
Traveller rating
477
188
35
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
188
35
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin towncloud foresthoneymoon suitebreakfast buffetcosta ricafruit treesfront porchorchid cafeeggs made to ordermonteverde areasuperior roomreception areawhite faced monkeysguided tourbunk bedsrestaurants and shopsbutterfly garden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 713 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We loved our stay at the Arco Iris Lodge. My husband, two children (4 and 6), and I stayed in the House, a two-bedroom cabin high on the hill with a small kitchen. We had a lovely porch where we could watch the rain and my kids loved exploring the grounds looking for bugs. We had the feeling of being outside of the town while still being walking distance from shops and services. As far as I can tell, there are very few places if any in Santa Elena that provide that. The provided breakfast was amazing and the kitchen staff were so pleasant. Overall, the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Beautifully kept gardens, very clean rooms with beautiful wood floors and walls. Loved the location which was quiet and off the main street, but still close to town and walking distance to restaurants which was important to our group since we did not have access to a car. The staff was very helpful in making tour suggestions and arranging our trips.

Cabin 18 is spacious with 1 king bed downstairs and one queen in the upstairs loft. Be aware that the downstairs bed is not private and you need to walk past the bed to get to the bathroom. Refrigerator, safe and table/sitting area was nice. No AC but we didn't need it in August. There was a mix-up with the reserved price we were quoted, but they honored the original reservation price which was much appreciated. Only suggestion was we could have used a small bedside fan upstairs to move the air around as there was no ceiling fan. Shower was clean and had hot water. Never had the chance to try the buffet but it looked good.

Room Tip: There were dogs up by the office that barked when we went to the office. I imagine this may have annoyed the cabins nearby. Based on that i would recommend cabins away from the office
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My wife, 18 month old son and I spent 6 fantastic nights at Arco Iris in their super clean and comfy lodges. The site is wonderful and holds many cool birds, including Masked Tityras and a Blue Crowned Mot Mot! The buffet breakfast is superb and you can watch the Capuchin monkeys while you eat. Best of all, though, are the staff who were wonderful with our mischievous little boy Nye. From the cleaners, site staff & cooks through to the receptionists and management, they were all exceptional - particularly Jose & Dominga! Go there.

Room Tip: Number 12 was our favourite, near the horses & wildlife trail.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BirdBeard2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Although the weather was awful and our cabin more than tiny and cosy (cheapest category) we really enjoyed our stay...it was clean,there was a lot of garden and trees, the service was unbelievably nice and helpful. The swiss receptionist helped us a lot in order to experience as much as possible within a short period of time...curicancha, night walk, cloudforest walks, reptiles, butterflies, hanging bridges,orchids...it was super. We were wet and cold,our clothes didn't get dry,so it is so easy to get your clothes washed and dried there for just a couple of dollars. We really enjoyed our stay there. Restaurants, supermarket and bakery is just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in the honeymoon cabin and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. We had a beautiful view of the mountains with some spectacular sunsets. The place was clean and quiet, with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. We took all of the advice of the people working the desk and had a great time in Monteverde. We're already looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews