We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and service!”
Review of Arco Iris Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arco Iris Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value and service!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We only spent one night here, but the room was spotless. The staff was helpful scheduling our canopy tour, and they gladly cancelled it and refunded us when a thunderstorm came along. Their breakfast was a highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    181
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
175
292
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Lush, quiet grounds that belie the hotel's setting in the middle of Santa Elena. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and architecturally interesting. Food is good. Service is excellent. They will book any tour you wish.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reevesdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a standard room. The room was clean and comfortable. And our bathroom here had the best shower of the trip!

This hotel also had the best breakfast -- it's not included, but it's fantastic, definitely worth $7.50!

The staff was very helpful with making and confirming various reservations for us, advising on options/things to do, and answering all our questions. The hotel setting is lovely - even though it's right in the center of the town (which for us was a big plus! we walked around everywhere, as we didn't have a rental car), it's located up a hill and surrounded by a garden, so it feels somewhat removed from the noise/traffic of the main roads that it is located so close to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aedraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spotless. The place was spotless. After a week traveling throughout NW Costa Rica, we decided to stay an extra day at the Arco Iris because the place was just so clean and polished. The breakfast was great, the grounds were nice, neat, and clean. The Security Guard, the Deskman, the Breakfast staff were all very kind, helpful, and accommodating. I would definitely stay again without hesitation!
If I could put a 6th star for cleanliness I would.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zerbarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Clean, comfortable rooms, set in a lovely garden which attracts beautiful colourful birds. The breakfast menu was extensive and of a very high quality. The staff were very helpful. The town on a Saturday night can be noisy as the locals like to relax and have fun at the weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the reception are in a quieter position away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a hard time deciding where to stay in Santa Elena, but Arco Iris was an excellent choice. It is in Santa Elena, but on top of a hill beside the main drag. The location made it easy to walk to dinner, etc., but it was much more peaceful than being right in town. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and everything is well cared for. There are lots of little places to sit and relax throughout the property. The room itself was a good size and had everything we needed. And, the person who checked us in was really helpful with booking activities. They also did our laundry for a very reasonable price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at Arco Iris for 7 nights in total, the accommodation, grounds, staff and breakfast are all superb. The place is very pretty, located in Santa Elena close to all of the great tours, which can be organised for you by the staff (they really know their stuff).
Be sure to enjoy the breakfast, it is a tasty treat, especially the home made jams. Yum..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arco Iris Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arco Iris Lodge

Property: Arco Iris Lodge
Address: Santa Elena de Monteverde, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arco Iris Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel Santa Elena
Arco Iris Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing