We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laid back and reasonable prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Amigos

Bar Amigos
Ranked #14 of 43 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: International, Latin, Bar, Pub, Central American, Costa Rican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bar Amigos Monteverde, Best Party Place in Towm Restaurant servive live Music
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Laid back and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

It's a big place. We went here for an early dinner after a day of zip-lining and hanging bridges. The food and service were both very good. They were setting up music on stage for the later "nightlife" crowd.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    94
    33
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
299 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Late Lunch - good food in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Having arrived after lunch, my husband and I wanted to go to a place less traveled and saw the sign for Bar Amigos. From the outside it appears to be a small hole in the wall. Don't be fooled. You walk in and it is a large restaurant and bar with TV screens everywhere and a large dance floor. It appears this would be the place to be in the evening. We were the only guests there and promptly took a seat by the vast windows overlooking the forest area. I had the Quesadillas and husband had a burger...and of course...beer. It was great! Service and food are both worth going back for - so we DID go back for Margaritas a few days later at a lunch hour and the place was pretty full.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noni53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
410 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Sweet Place to Chill Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We went here twice and each time we received great service and even better food. The relaxed laid back nature of the bar results in the perfect atmosphere. There are a number of Costa Rican specialties on the menu - the chifrijo was especially nice. They also have a wonderful selection of alcohol and beers and the beer was chilled to perfection.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gpotvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

The special nachos were delicious and a full meal. My husband had the tortilla soup which was excellent but not quite enough for him.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stopped in for a late lunch. Had the chifrijo, ceviche, casada and guacamole. All were very good. Service was pleasant and efficient. Place was very clean. NFL on the TV.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnotherOntarioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Amigos also viewed

 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Bar Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing