We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway for folks on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A group of 5 of us study abroad students came from San Jose for the weekend (2 nights) and got a room with 4 beds and a private bathroom for $28 per person. The hostel gives a sense of community to it's visitors which is a comforting feeling for first-time tourists. Taco-Taco, the taco bar attached to the hostel, is delicious and they lobby plays a mix of alternative music to add to the laid-back atmosphere. The staff were always very friendly and offered unbiased information to help us make the most of our trip. I felt right at home and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Had a great time at the Pension Sanra Elena. It was centrally located in Monteverde, which made it very easy to get around. The front desk spent a long time with us going over things to do in the area and the common room was a fun place to hang out. Would definitely recommend for an easy, no hassle stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The laid-back atmosphere at Pension Santa Elena was one reason why I enjoyed Santa Elena/Monte Verde that much. The staff is very helpful in arranging trips and providing useful advice. You will meet lots of people there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chmannva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We would highly recommend you stay here. 9/10. My boyfriend and I stayed here 3 nights in a private room with a private bathroom for $35/night. The hostel is very basic, yet very clean, and made us feel very comfortable. The staff is extremely helpful with local tours/attractions and pleasant to talk to! The hostel has a small kitchen open to every guest, which got cramped at times but has the essentials you need to prepare your own food. It also comes with free wi-fi and a free breakfast, which is absolutely delicious. There is a small taco stand just outside the hostel that provides the breakfast and serves food all day long. The food from here is quite good and reasonably priced for the hungry backpacker.

This hostel appeared to be the social hub for tourists as they have a small lobby/porch out front, which most backpackers within the town congregated to in the evenings. This front area has a fridge, which the hostel sells beer from, and they do not mind if you bring your own and keep it in there. Since the entire town seemed to shut down around 10pm, it was quite enjoyable having that gathering area to share a few drinks, some laughs and information with other backpackers, yet having a peaceful night's sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZEB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We were 2 adults, 2 teenage boys in a larger room in the new bit- perfect for us with own bathroom. The staff totally sorted us out for activities with lots of good info and we had a great time. Cool frontage right in town and close to all restaurants. Breakfast is from "TacoTaco" next door and was great. My son wanted lunch and dinner from there too! Relaxed place, very friendly

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pooleperson375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

This place is a real gem. The staff couldn't do more to help you out and gave unbiased information about activities and the area. There is a communal area and kitchen which gives a real backpacker vibe to the place. They cater to all budgets and there was even someone camping in the garden area! The location is amazing in the centre of town and close to the bus stops to the cloud forests. I really couldn't fault this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OllieandMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Back packing through Central America with my wife we stayed here for 2 nights but wished it was more. Great buzz and vibrant atmosphere. Plenty of young like minded folk passing through. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Plenty to do and see in this town and all arranged by the staff here. We were asked to turn our music down once. It wasn't that loud or late but we didn't realise next door could hear it so well. Sorry! Great place to stay with loads of book to read, games to play and plenty of dogs around to curl up on the couch with. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 34 in Santa Elena
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
#7 of 34 in Santa Elena
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Address: Al Sureste Banco Nacional en El Corazon de Santa Elena 250 m, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: £18 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Santa Elena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to "exceed our guests' expectations of a Travelers Hotel by providing outstanding services and dependable information. We commit resources and time to preserving the values and traditions of our communities." Pure Life...Pure Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pension Santa Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing