We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Helpful Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Helpful Staff!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a very popular place with backpackers, from around the world, and has cooking facilities, common areas and super helpful staff. The place was always bustling and full of activity while we were there.

My wife and I stayed here, with our 14 year old grandson, in our own clean, private room with its own bathroom. After a couple of days of zip lining (which was fantastic), we realized our grandson had a serious ear infection (likely contracted several days earlier). The staff at the pension contacted an excellent local doctor who made a house call about 20 minutes later. Shortly after we visited the local pharmacy and our grandson began a course of antibiotics. We were very grateful for this helpful, prompt service.

There are 2 restaurants that we would also recommend - Restaurante Morphos and Tree House Restaurante and Cafe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElderTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    205
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
62
280
113
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This tourist-friendly place is great for money and location. The staff are super friendly and helpful in terms on your next destination and they will try to help you as much as they can. Breakfast is included with the stay. I booked a room with the bathroom, and although it's very basic, I was pleased with it. I can get wifi within my room. Its a great spot for travelers who's coming from Arenal and on the way to Puntarenas area.

Room Tip: Request for the upgraded (new) rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This exceptionally clean, tourist-friendly pension has obviously become one of the main hubs for travelers of all nations. It provided a relaxing atmosphere, friendly and helpful English/Spanish-speaking staff and owners, and excellent breakfast tacos included. We booked a room with a bathroom, and were pleased with its cleanliness and modernity. Tips on what to see in the area and what tour companies offered did not seem to be linked to a cut in the fee but rather a factual portrayal of what is available.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I thought I had booked a private room with a privathe bath, but it was a shared bath. The only problem with this is there doesn't seem to be enough of bathrooms for the amount of people staying there. The music does continue until 10pm. They have great coffee and it is a great place to relax. The staff are very knowledgeable and helpful with all questions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandamlj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I'd say Pension Santa Elena is the most happening hostel in the area. It seems like people from all over came to hang out there. The porch, reception area, and kitchen are all great spaces to hang out and meet new people. The rooms are clean and comfortable. And adjacent to the hostel is a great taco place, Taco Taco, where Pension Santa Elena residents get a 10% discount. We ate tacos there 3 times in the span of 2.5 days. They were that good. I recommend the fish tacos. Also you get free breakfast from Taco Taco in the morning, a taco or bread with homemade marmalade, which is delicious. Pension Santa elena also helps you organize all your activities for your trip, and the owners and staff are very knowledgable on how to make your costa rica trip the best possible (how many days to stay in which cities and where).

Small issue. The window in our room let in natural light, which was great, but it also woke us up at 7am every morning. We wished there was a curtain we could have drawn to cover the light.

The place was great. If I'm ever back in MV, I'm staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neesha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent 4 days at Pension with recommendation from friends and couldn't have been happier. We had 3 people stay in a room for 4 that was big enough to fit many more. Private bath and loft with an extra bed made for a very open and inviting room. I was very impressed with the service of the staff - friendly, fun and super helpful. They booked all of our adventures (horseback riding and canyoneering) with ease and reliability. They even posted an advertisement on the front desk for others to join on our shuttle to Manuel Antonio to make the cost cheaper.

And, complementary breakfast at TACO TACO was the bomb.

I would highly recommend this hostel - one of the best I've stayed at across the world. Don't think twice about booking!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalons-en-Champagne, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

After an early start and a stressful journey to Santa Elena from Nicaragua, I was relieved when we arrived at the Pension Santa Elena. The staff, in particular the manager, Diego were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. In my opinion, they aren't out to make commission but are instead there to tell you about all the good places to check out. Diego recommended Curi Cancha and even recommended the guide we should have which was an excellent suggestion and we had a fantastic day out there.

The rooms could do with a bit of an update and the breakfast was a little too heavy for me (tacos and burritos at 7am isn't particularly appealing). Nonetheless, the rooms were spacious, the wifi worked and the cafe/kitchen area had a good atmosphere making it easy to meet other travellers. I'd certainly recommend this place to those travelling to Monteverde/Santa Elena!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samirdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Property: Pension Santa Elena
Address: Al Sureste Banco Nacional en El Corazon de Santa Elena 250 m, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Santa Elena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to "exceed our guests' expectations of a Travelers Hotel by providing outstanding services and dependable information. We commit resources and time to preserving the values and traditions of our communities." Pure Life...Pure Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pension Santa Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing