We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room very clean ”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great room very clean ”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We loved Monteverde. The hostel was very clean and in a great location. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 was the location of our room was very noisy, but I am sure other rooms are much quieter. I would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    207
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
65
282
116
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This place is great! Very very friendly and helpful staff, helped us book several tours in the area which were all great. Ziplining, night hike and a visit to the monteverde cloud forest. Our room with a double bed and private bathroom was nice, just what we needed and a nice spacious shower with warm water. The vibe at the pension was great and we met some nice people there as well. Also, the included breakfast from taco taco, free coffee and wifi are a plus :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Three nights in two-bedded room with bath,comfortable beds, plenty of hot water, no complaint about street noise. Management switched our room after complaint about high step into bathroom. , , iWe too found the youth scene daunting but got comfortable with it. The young men at thefront desk are worthy of a four-star hotel, good with tour arrangements, advice about the local scene, onward travel info. this is an honest, upfront place, without décor and witjout pretensions, what you see is what you get, and that applies to the taco breakfasts, too.

Room Tip: First-floor big room across the courtyard was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We chose to stay at the hostel for 3 nights because of TripAdvisor ratings and price. I believe we definitely got our money's worth. The staff took care of all of our arrangments to visit forests locally, told us about good food spots, etc. Even the little Taco Taco restaurant next door was fine. It is also clear that the hostel really caters mostly to younger travelers with all in our party being over 50. We were "down" with that, only having problems with the noise at night mostly due to incessant motorcycles going up the relatively steep hill in front of the hostel. Otherwise, a good stay. Beds relatively comfortable...I mean, it's a hostel, right?

Room Tip: Choose lower floor in annex. Seems to be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I had 2 great nights staying there. It's well located, in the heart of the village with buses to Monteverde right at the corner. Shops, bars, restaurants and supermarkets all around it. The staff is very helpful. Rooms are clean. Good breakfast. Great vibe!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

From the moment I arrived, the staff here was exemplary. They had tons of information about the various tours and came across as extremely unbiased. I wanted to book a specific tour (Monteverde Coffee Co-op) and they tried daily to see if there were enough for the tour to run. They also had made small photocopy cheat sheets of how to get to popular destinations from Monteverde (e.g. Nicaragua or Montezuma).

I stayed in both a private with private bath and a private with shared bath. Both were very comfortable and the shared bath was freely available, so I didn't regret my "downgrade". The only negative is street noise, but I think that will be present in any nearby lodging. The local kids like to ride their loud dirtbikes and ATVs up and down the street past 11pm. It's a minor annoyance when first trying to fall asleep, but not a huge concern and nothing to hold against this property.

The free breakfast was very light, but a nice addition. It's a single taco with a couple slices of fruit. This is enough to tide you over while you head out to explore the national parks but you'll be wanting a decent lunch afterward. Free coffee/tea around the clock is also a nice touch. The kitchen appeared relatively clean although I did not use it.

Room Tip: Private rooms with or without bath are a solid deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff here were so great and helpful, very knowledgable about the whole area, arranging anything you might like to do, booking taxis and recommending places to eat. We had a lovely room off the garden, it was neat and clean and the bed was comfortable. Shower was hot though you had to wait a few minutes for the hot water to arrive. free coffee in the reception and it was a lovely friendly sociable place to sit and eat. Good kitchen facilities, though we only used them to make tea. Monteverde is a great centre with so much to do in the surrounding area. Price includes a light breakfast that was just right to start the day. We were a pair of relative oldies but never felt out of place amongst all the young people. We picked this place slightly at random but were very pleased with it and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Didn't see the dorms but would not recommend a basic double room, they were off a corridor and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 34 in Santa Elena
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Backpackers
Monteverde Backpackers
#9 of 34 in Santa Elena
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Property: Pension Santa Elena
Address: Al Sureste Banco Nacional en El Corazon de Santa Elena 250 m, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Santa Elena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to "exceed our guests' expectations of a Travelers Hotel by providing outstanding services and dependable information. We commit resources and time to preserving the values and traditions of our communities." Pure Life...Pure Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Santa Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing