We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay for all travellers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Santa Elena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay for all travellers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at La Pension Santa Elena in May of this year for 4 nights. I was only meant to stay for 2 and leave when friends of mine left but I enjoyed La Pension Santa Elena and Monteverde so much that I found myself staying for 4. I stayed in both a 3 person room and a single room and both were lovely, clean and cosy. It's safe and secure, comfortable and has a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Ran and Diego are incredibly kind and helpful and have an in-depth knowledge and first hand experience of Monteverde and the rest of Costa Rica. They are able to give honest advice about activities in the area because they themselves have actually tried them. They also helped me to plan the remainder of my solo trip through Costa Rica and I had a wonderful time having followed their advice. It provided fantastic value for money and it doesn't hurt that it's right next door to the delicious and very reasonably priced Taco Taco, where you get your free breakfast while staying at La Pension Santa Elena.
I would recommend La Pension Santa Elena to anyone visiting Monteverde, whether they are travelling solo, as a couple or as a group.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    201
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
61
276
111
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Overall our experience was excellent at Pension Santa Elena! The place has great friendly people who work there (especially Diego - but everyone was awesome). You can tell they really care about the place and want to ensure you have a good and positive experience. You never feel like you're putting anyone out to ask a question - on the contrary, they seem eager to answer questions. They are honest with their opinions and aren't trying to "sell" you on any specific excursion. An added bonus- there is an adorable friendly pup that wanders around sometimes - he was awesome. Overall our best experience so far regarding accommodations here in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sararenee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The atmosphere of this place is great. There is a large room with tables and couches to hang out, and a restaurant attached with free breakfast. You can buy beer there as well. We stayed in a clean standard room with a private (nice) bath with reliably hot water. Some of the other rooms looked super nice and new, but our room was great, too. It was clean, and the hostel is in a great location. The desk staff work from 5:30 am-10 pm, and are very willing to help you with your plans or needs. I like that this place does community work, composts, and does other eco-friendly stuff, part of the reason we stayed here.

Room Tip: Ask to see them since I think some are newer, but no matter what, I think you'll have a good one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We loved Monteverde. The hostel was very clean and in a great location. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 was the location of our room was very noisy, but I am sure other rooms are much quieter. I would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank greekguy1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This place is great! Very very friendly and helpful staff, helped us book several tours in the area which were all great. Ziplining, night hike and a visit to the monteverde cloud forest. Our room with a double bed and private bathroom was nice, just what we needed and a nice spacious shower with warm water. The vibe at the pension was great and we met some nice people there as well. Also, the included breakfast from taco taco, free coffee and wifi are a plus :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Three nights in two-bedded room with bath,comfortable beds, plenty of hot water, no complaint about street noise. Management switched our room after complaint about high step into bathroom. , , iWe too found the youth scene daunting but got comfortable with it. The young men at thefront desk are worthy of a four-star hotel, good with tour arrangements, advice about the local scene, onward travel info. this is an honest, upfront place, without décor and witjout pretensions, what you see is what you get, and that applies to the taco breakfasts, too.

Room Tip: First-floor big room across the courtyard was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donaelena2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We chose to stay at the hostel for 3 nights because of TripAdvisor ratings and price. I believe we definitely got our money's worth. The staff took care of all of our arrangments to visit forests locally, told us about good food spots, etc. Even the little Taco Taco restaurant next door was fine. It is also clear that the hostel really caters mostly to younger travelers with all in our party being over 50. We were "down" with that, only having problems with the noise at night mostly due to incessant motorcycles going up the relatively steep hill in front of the hostel. Otherwise, a good stay. Beds relatively comfortable...I mean, it's a hostel, right?

Room Tip: Choose lower floor in annex. Seems to be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Property: Pension Santa Elena
Address: Al Sureste Banco Nacional en El Corazon de Santa Elena 250 m, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Santa Elena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to "exceed our guests' expectations of a Travelers Hotel by providing outstanding services and dependable information. We commit resources and time to preserving the values and traditions of our communities." Pure Life...Pure Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pension Santa Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing