We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Crown Point, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 days in early July 2014. At first we were assigned to a room (for 3) that was on the ground floor next to the street, at the front of the pension. It was very noisy so we asked to be reassigned the next day. They accommodated us with an upstairs room at the back of the property. It was very quiet there, and we had a nice view of the surrounding mountains. The staff at the pension is very knowledgeable about things to do, tourist buses, etc. Both rooms we stayed in were clean and everything worked properly. We were within walking distance of bank, restaurants, shopping. The breakfast was good. We were within walking distance of a biological reserve.

I would recommend this pension to family/friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new section, at the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geezerette46307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    207
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
65
282
116
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a great little hotel/hostel type of place. Very clean rooms. I stayed in a room with a private shower and toilet. But the best part of Pension SA are the people. Joe and Diego were so welcoming and helpful. They helped me set up any "excursions" I wanted without a hitch. Great advice on what to see, where to go, and especially where to eat (thanks Diego!). I will definitely stay here when I return next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandalf3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I camped for 2 nights. Costa Rica was never the best for camping spots, but they accommodated us nicely here, if in a relatively small area. The bathroom situation was standard for a hostel, and we were very happy with the communal kitchen situation. Good vibes all around from the employees, especially with the tips they give you on how to make the most of your time in the area. Plus a great cat.

Room Tip: camped out in the nice patio/yard area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgg217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the hostel with our son (8yrs), and enjoyed the welcoming, positive atmosphere. There were other families with kids there, and we found all of the travelers/guests to be pleasant. The staff was friendly, and very helpful with helping us to organize accommodations in the next towns we were headed to, as well as helping us decide on which adventures to pursue in Monteverde (Diego was especially helpful!!) We stayed in a private room, with bath, in the annex, and found it to be spacious, clean, and a great price. The lobby has foosball, wifi, and is generally a good place to hang out. I almost forgot- breakfast (included in price) is delicious!

Room Tip: The annex is especially nice- we stayed upstairs with private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Staff are very helpful and the crowd is Gap year. Good company, music, and the location is within walking distance of the bus stop. Rooms are clean and access to all the attractions make this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p31893189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at La Pension Santa Elena in May of this year for 4 nights. I was only meant to stay for 2 and leave when friends of mine left but I enjoyed La Pension Santa Elena and Monteverde so much that I found myself staying for 4. I stayed in both a 3 person room and a single room and both were lovely, clean and cosy. It's safe and secure, comfortable and has a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Ran and Diego are incredibly kind and helpful and have an in-depth knowledge and first hand experience of Monteverde and the rest of Costa Rica. They are able to give honest advice about activities in the area because they themselves have actually tried them. They also helped me to plan the remainder of my solo trip through Costa Rica and I had a wonderful time having followed their advice. It provided fantastic value for money and it doesn't hurt that it's right next door to the delicious and very reasonably priced Taco Taco, where you get your free breakfast while staying at La Pension Santa Elena.
I would recommend La Pension Santa Elena to anyone visiting Monteverde, whether they are travelling solo, as a couple or as a group.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Overall our experience was excellent at Pension Santa Elena! The place has great friendly people who work there (especially Diego - but everyone was awesome). You can tell they really care about the place and want to ensure you have a good and positive experience. You never feel like you're putting anyone out to ask a question - on the contrary, they seem eager to answer questions. They are honest with their opinions and aren't trying to "sell" you on any specific excursion. An added bonus- there is an adorable friendly pup that wanders around sometimes - he was awesome. Overall our best experience so far regarding accommodations here in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sararenee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Backpackers
Monteverde Backpackers
#9 of 34 in Santa Elena
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Property: Pension Santa Elena
Address: Al Sureste Banco Nacional en El Corazon de Santa Elena 250 m, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Santa Elena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to "exceed our guests' expectations of a Travelers Hotel by providing outstanding services and dependable information. We commit resources and time to preserving the values and traditions of our communities." Pure Life...Pure Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Santa Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing