We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use some improvement..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This was my least favorite hotel of all the hotels I stayed at during my stay in Costa Rica. The room was on the smaller side. The comforters on the beds were dusty and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a long time. The fitted bedsheet didn't quite fit the bed we slept on, and came off easily if we even moved slightly. We could see the blue mattresss underneath -- the bedsheet only fit the top two inches, if at all. The bathroom was awkwardly designed -- there wasn't enough room in the shower area. Didn't get hot water for more than a couple of minutes, so if two people had to shower, the second person had only lukewarm water at best. The bath towels were very thin and small as well. The room felt very damp and smelled the same way too. We didn't really enjoy spending time in the room, and were glad to be out most of the time. However, the people at the counter were very helpful and friendly. Also, the breakfast was great. The best gallo pinto I've had in Costa Rica. They also served scrambled eggs, pancakes, toast and fruits. Location-wise, it's probably a 5-10min walk into Santa Elena downtown. It's easy when you're walking there coz it's all downhill, but tough on the way back. A taxi back from town is about $2, which we thought was money well spent. The uphill walk after dinner is too much of a punishment.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank on-the-equator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

Of the four hotels I stayed at in Costa Rica, this was my least favorite. A small room felt even smaller with wood paneling and a very low, wood ceiling. The bathroom was tiny. After a steamy shower one night, there was still condensation on the bathroom mirror in the morning. I did keep the windows closed to keep the bugs out, but an array of bugs did find their way inside. The whole place felt damp at all times. There's no heat or air conditioning. Not even a fan. The comforter on the bed looked like it hadn't been changed in years. It's not exactly close to town. It's a long walk up a steep hill after dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicagojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed for 2 nights; the rooms are spacious, very clean bathroom.
Only the balconyside is noisy because it is closed with windows to protect against the wind and rain.
There is no hangingcloset in the room and there is not sufficient light in the room (no bedlights!). If they should do something to improve this The rating could be higher!
Breakfast is good ( even pancakes) or original Costarican style.
Free wireless internet. No bar/ swimmingpool.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teriben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Stayed here with wife and son last week. Can't say enough about the hospitality and warmth of the staff. That in itself would do it for me. We were shown a very nice clean room, with a really nice bathroom and shower. The cleaning ladies do a fantastic job. The morning breakfast was a real treat, even looking forward to being greeted by Carlos and the other kitchen workers, great way to start the day. Location was perfect, one direction walk or drive towards town or drive to Monteverde, the other towards Sta Helena reserve, Selvatura or on to Arenal , taxis or shuttles show up early each day. Just standing in front early in the morning, watching birds and people walk by gives you a sense of the community. Next to Rustic Hotel, who recommended Los Cipreses because of last minute travel plans, and glad we got a room. Computers and internet in lobby add to convenience. Looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elviaje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Came as a chaperone with a group of high school students. Look forward to returning with family.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

This was perfect for my daughter and myself. The Hosts, Gerardo and AnaDaisy Camacho helped us with our accommodations, personally woke us up(to not miss our bus), offered great breakfasts, fast computer connections and information on everything in Santa Elena/Monteverde.
We will be back to visit next year!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjlemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

My family and I decided to take a group tour and this was our hotel for the stay in Monteverde. Overall it was a nice place to stay in a pretty good location. It is walking distance from town, but if you need to take a taxi it is really cheap (Approx 800-1000 colons). The pictures of the hotel currently on the site do not do it justice, they have updated the grounds (which are beautiful) and the hotel dramatically since those pictures were taken. Breakfast was great and there is very good computer access in the main reception area which I couldn't believe it was free! The rooms were very clean, but in some of the rooms there was a woody smell that took some getting use to as well as a little bit of a smell coming from the pipes in the bathroom. Our biggest issue we had while we were there were the high winds that would start in the night and the rain was coming down sideways (the owner said it only happens twice a year for approx 3 days and we were lucky enough to get it). We were on the second floor and the wind just howled against the balcony windows making it hard to sleep. The beds were very comfortable, but bring a sweater as the nights get cold for sleeping.
Some of the activities we did were zip lining with Adventura, Orchid garden, Frog Pond (go at dusk or night) and Santa Elena Cloud forest reserve- all were great and we had a fantasic time in Monteverde.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlnshwagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.8 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Address: Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range: £39 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cipreses is a mountain & garden hotel, located just 5 minutes walk from the commercial center of the Monteverde Cloud Forest, the hotel provides various services such as: Breakfast, free Internet access, WiFi, hot water, local information, the hotel began as small businesses and increased by the increase of tourism in the area. In addition, the hotel is included in the list of ECO hotels, which is why we have different policies for reducing natural resources, solar panels, waste recycling, alternative lighting systems and water reusable for other purposes, far to be a mountain resort, we just try to be a total quality hotel environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing