We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Helpful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Don't let the 70's style comforter fool you - it may look a little outdated here, but something feels very warm about this place. The receptionist helped us arrange a private driver and explain all there is to see in the area. He was patient and by far offered the most information since arriving in Costa Rica. The wifi was free and available in the rooms. Breakfast was amazing! The beds and pillow was super comfortable. If you need fluffy towels, this is the not the place for you. If you are in the area for a night or two - I would highly recommend it. Ask about the local food place down the hill - amazing local rice dishes...

If you come to the area - expect COLD temperatures! Pack accordingly.

Room Tip: I was in room 22. This had 3 beds (even thought there were only 2 of us) and it was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here for one night while in Monte Verde. The staff was amazingly helpful with directions and hospitality. They even started breakfast early for us when they knew that our ziplining excursion was going to be early. Breakfast was absolutely delicious!
The room was spacious and very clean - we were 5 people and it was not crowded at all. Additionally the internet connection was the best we had seen in CR :)
Would recommend this place to anybody going to Monte Verde!
Pura Vida :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel is simple yet clean. I had room #38 and it was 2 double beds, with a balcony. The TV didn't work, and neither did some of the lights, this didn't help when coming home after sunset and the light outside the door doesn't work. There is only 1 key per room, so if you and your roomie have different schedules, this could be problematic. There is free wifi, and laundry here is cheap (by weight, one bag was about $6 USD) with ~ 12h turnaround time. There is no safety deposit box in the room, and thus you had to put everything in an envelope to go in the office, but their security is lax. My roomie went and said her name, but corrected it to my name and still got the envelope handed to her. Also, my laundry was switched with another girl in my group. If I did not know anyone else in the hotel, chances are that they would've just let me pick from the bags of laundry they had. There is very little counter space in the bathroom, so a hook is handy to have on your toiletry bag. There are windows to vent out the humidity though. It's about a 5-10 min walk to town, but partially along sparsely lit gravel alley.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelengnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My parents and sisters ended up at Hotel Cipreses based on a recommendation from the staff at the Monteverde Welcome Center. Upon arriving, the front desk clerk Jose Arturo was SUPER helpful, kind and accommodating! He even asked the breakfast staff to get up early (6:40am!) and cook us breakfast, which again, was DELICIOUS (eggs, plantains, beans and rice, pancakes)! Our room was very spacious and clean. The price of the room was VERY reasonable. The wi-fi was strong--great for Facetimeing and Skype! I would recommend this place to any traveler.

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 night a part of a tour. The Room was spacious and clean. Unfortunately there was a tile missing from the window in the bathroom and one in the room so it was quite cold and the fact that it was very windy outside didn't help. The staff was very nice and helpful. Nice breakfast for 7$.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights as part of a G Adventures Tour. Large room. Quiet other than howling of wind at night. A bit of a walk to town (uphill coming back). Breakfast were not cheap ($7), didn't include any meat, and they charged our tour guide for 3 breakfasts we apparently didn't eat. (Overcharging and bad exchange rates seem to be common in Costa Rica.) Nice scenery..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The Hotel Cypress was a somewhat disappointing stop on our tour of Costa Rica. The rooms were small and had a rustic charm about them, which was nice. They also had a television, computers in a common area, breakfast, and set up towels into animals for you each morning. The hotel will only provide you with one key, but if you leave it in your room, will quickly get the master key to unlock your door. The hotel was located near the main road, which happens to be rather steep.

The walls are thin, so noise caries through quite easily. The television is in a rather high spot, so you may not be able to reach it. Also, our room had a hole in the wall. Ants were coming through the hole.

Room Tip: Keep track of your key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
493 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Address: Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range: £38 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cipreses is a mountain & garden hotel, located just 5 minutes walk from the commercial center of the Monteverde Cloud Forest, the hotel provides various services such as: Breakfast, free Internet access, WiFi, hot water, local information, the hotel began as small businesses and increased by the increase of tourism in the area. In addition, the hotel is included in the list of ECO hotels, which is why we have different policies for reducing natural resources, solar panels, waste recycling, alternative lighting systems and water reusable for other purposes, far to be a mountain resort, we just try to be a total quality hotel environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing