We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - Wonderful people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place - Wonderful people”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I felt the hotel was well located, very clean and updated. I enjoyed the fact they had a nice garden and beautiful flowers all around. The staff was wonderful. The room was very comfortable. I'll be staying there again!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scottytico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    188
    85
    20
    1
See reviews for
105
166
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Clean and great breakfast included. I would recommend this hotel for families. The room was typical. It was a little difficult to find but my phones gps helped better than the one from the rental car. The staff was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dripping Springs, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a Very nice place for fair price. Clean, nice staff, well located. There is a great place to eat within walking distance (sabor Tico). Highly recommend. They clean the rooms daily and bring fresh towels. Plenty of space for all five of us. Hot water. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annagirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was clean, staff was friendly and we loved the view. It was also a short walk to the small downtown area where the restaurants/shops are. The walk is downhill (which means uphill on the way back) so keep that in mind!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tualatin, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I agree with another reviewer that considering its location, we liked this hotel within walking distance of town (albeit hilly) but close to a couple of nice restaurants. The hotel is attractively landscaped and designed, with nice but not luxurious rooms. They were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was ample and tasty.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregonbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in Hotel Cipreses when in Santa Elena on a tour of Costa Rica. I had Room 17 which was a single room with a double bed.

Pros: rooms are large and clean. The hotel reminds me a bit of a motel. It is about 500m from downtown Santa Elena, so away from any noise or traffic. Breakfast buffet offers decent value.

Cons: hot water was a constant problem, even though they say that water should be hot within 30 seconds, most of the group never got hot water when they wanted it, and I had to shower the next morning as there was no hot water the two times I tried in the evening. The hotel is located on a gravel road with no signs, so can easily be missed if you are walking home to the hotel. There is only wifi in the reception area.

Overall, I would say that it represents decent accommodation, but I think there are better options in the price range.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Taking into consideration that Monteverde is a very rustic place, with many different hotels and places to stay ranging from very cheap to very expensive prices, I would say Hotel Cipreses is a good place to stay for its value. It is middle price, it offers a nice breakfast, wi fi en all rooms, cable tv, hot water and it is close enough to town. The place is clean and they people that run the hotel takes a lot of time on details. They offer a place very commited to the environment and try to make their bussiness very sustentable. It may not be the best hotel, but it is a good option if you have a limited budget for a night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBatours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
243 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
686 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Property: Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Address: Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cipreses is a mountain & garden hotel, located just 5 minutes walk from the commercial center of the Monteverde Cloud Forest, the hotel provides various services such as: Breakfast, free Internet access, WiFi, hot water, local information, the hotel began as small businesses and increased by the increase of tourism in the area. In addition, the hotel is included in the list of ECO hotels, which is why we have different policies for reducing natural resources, solar panels, waste recycling, alternative lighting systems and water reusable for other purposes, far to be a mountain resort, we just try to be a total quality hotel environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing