We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Tucan(Santa Elena)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heliconia Hotel(Monteverde)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cala Lodge(Monteverde)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
171
207
97
23
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
207
97
23
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanbasic hotelcosta ricaeco friendly hotelshort walkhot watercloud foresthotel is locatedrental carwalls are thinwatermelonplantainsstaff was very friendly and helpfulzip liningsabor ticobreakfast was deliciouswould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed for two nights in January. During out short trip to monteverde, the receptionist and his daughter were helpful at all times! The service was very good, the room clean and very spacious. The hotel is well located for all kind of trips in the area and the breakfast was quite good as well. Overall, I can highly recommend this hotel- we would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights at about $55 per night. Staff was friendly and very helpful.

English is good, although I they booked some transportation and I ended up in the wrong city.

Only strike against them is my room abutted a residential street which had a noisy dog.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a0210180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel Cipreses was a comfortable and enjoying stay. The service staff were very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was included for us which was also appreciated. The walk into the town as expected in the mountain area was hilly but not overall completely inconvenient. The room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel for people staying in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAX2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here three nights in early March. Booked on line and got 3 nights for the price of two. Very reasonably priced. Two adults and Two kids. Room was clean and water pressure was good. Beds weren't the greatest, but as good as we had expected. Breakfast was very good. We appreciated that the hotel made a point to separate recycles - it seemed fairly eco friendly. The room was large enough for our family.

The only problem we had was with noise. We were on the 2nd floor on the alley. The view was great from the balcony (although there were no chairs out there and the railing would be fine for adults but wasn't safe for a 3 year old. We could hear the people in the other bathroom next to ours, and there was a dog that barked randomly all night long. There wasn't much they could have done about either issue, so I don't blame the hotel. (I didn't notice until we got home, but we were supposed to have gotten a welcome cocktail which we didn't...but it obviously wasn't a big deal)

We like to walk and this hotel was about a 1/2 mile walk from town (downhill to town and uphill back) so it was great. It was in a nice neighborhood which was much quieter than town which is pretty hustle bustle.

Monteverde is really tourism oriented, and I was a bit disheartened that most of the people spoke English to us and the prices in the stores and restaurants was in $ not colones. The town has been taken over by extreme tours - zip lines primarily and wasn't the rural experience we were expecting.

This hotel was a great choice for a family and we'd happily stay there again.

Room Tip: For a view stay on the 2nd floor but take earplugs.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SewardAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed at Cipresses for a night. The check-in staff were friendly courteous and helpful but didn't point out the check-out time and the hourly penalty rate for not checking out on time so be mindful of this. A short walk to town down and up a hill so you may want to stay closer to town if travelling with small children. Rooms are basic and a bit dated but clean. Beds were not very comfortable and linens were old. Breakfast was good. Staff were very helpful in arranging horsebackriding tour which was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliciaRamdeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews