We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good value! Close to the downtown, the service was great. They helped us get everything lined up for our trip... during our stay in Monteverde and off to Arenal. The breakfast was delicious too. I would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kms S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    174
    78
    19
    1
See reviews for
95
149
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nice clean hotel room with balcony on the second level - be able to carry your things up stairs if you are on the second floor. Great staff, willing to help you reserve tours or find restaurants. We felt safe and not too close to the "downtown" Santa Elena, but close enough to walk.

Room Tip: Upper rooms (we were in room 26) have a closed in balcony. You can open windows on it for air flow o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Fang7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very friendly staff helped us arrange tours and recommended excellent local restaurants. Delicious Tico breakfast. Saw a sloth right from the garden area. No coffee maker or hair dryer. Great for people who want a Costa Rican experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie7002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

For the price, this hotel is an excellent option. The room was clean and spacious, although could have had more amenities (coffee maker, working TV, etc). The concierge helped us to set up activities such as night walks and coffee tours. Best of all, the location is perfect. It is a short 10 minute walk into town and we were often the first people dropped off when returning from activities in shuttles.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel itself was clean with friendly staff but the thin walls were a deal breaker. You could hear every voice, shuffling of items, and (literally) every hum of your neighbor. This was through walls with closed doors. Then the balconies are all one solid structure, almost like a hallway, completely enclosed with glass on the outer side (they opened but neighbors complained instantly of you letting bugs in if you opened it). The only separation was a metal bar. It felt like you were sitting with your neighbors... and if they knew each other (day one was a group from the Netherlands, and day 2 was a group from the US) and were placed on each side of you, it was like you were in the middle of them... you literally were right with them - in the middle though - on the balcony, and again, you heard everything. It's unfortunate because it's a pretty hotel that is very environmentally conscious (no A/C, but not really needed at that elevation) and clean. Just annoyingly noisy in your room at all times. I promise I am not being picky, it was crazy to hear every cough and hum - obviously we had a literally hours upon end humming single older lady next to us - can you tell it's still burned into my brain? :-/

Room Tip: Get an end room upstairs to reduce the number of neighbors for use of balcony and hopefully less noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank frogandtoadontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Unfotunately I do not hace the night rate infomation, as It was paid by someone else.

Hotel is good and comfotable.

Only disppointing is the balcony door does not lock

Front desk people are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roberto Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Nice hotel with impeccable grounds.The floor to ceiling window in my room was so clean that I didn't realize it was there and I walked right through it. Almost broke the glass and my nose, lmao. Staff was friendly, only downfall is that breakfast was way too expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#10 of 23 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Property: Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Address: Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cipreses is a mountain & garden hotel, located just 5 minutes walk from the commercial center of the Monteverde Cloud Forest, the hotel provides various services such as: Breakfast, free Internet access, WiFi, hot water, local information, the hotel began as small businesses and increased by the increase of tourism in the area. In addition, the hotel is included in the list of ECO hotels, which is why we have different policies for reducing natural resources, solar panels, waste recycling, alternative lighting systems and water reusable for other purposes, far to be a mountain resort, we just try to be a total quality hotel environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing