We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but no comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Bad bed and pillow! Cold room! Smoke unfriendly, lots of noise from neighbours! Poor breakfast but really nice staff: helpfull and friendly. Close to town if you have a car. Restaurants close by and if you are lucky you will find a sloth in one of the trees :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vvdv1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel (it has more of a B&B feel to it) for only one night but it was a terrific base for our activities. The room was basic but had everything that we needed; you don't go to Monteverde to sit in your hotel room! Our room did have a lovely view of the hills/mountains. The staff were very friendly and helpful (gave us a few tips for places to eat based on our taste). We ate at a nearby restaurant called Bon Appetite. Don't be put off by the cheesy name as the food was great and the service was first rate. Would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Jacob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The staff was really helpful. They helped me book my transportation to Manuel Antonio and gave me good info on the tours available. The hotel was very clean. My only issue was that like many other hotels in Costa Rica, there's not much sound proofing so I could hear people talking in the next room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank magagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a great choice for a convenient location that isn't in the bustle of downtown but a quick walk. It's peaceful at the hotel but down the hill is town, so you aren't out in the middle of nowhere. We were on foot and that helped us a lot. The rooms are small, simple and clean. Bring a long sleeve short cause it's chilly. They have a very sweet cat that visits you in the morning, and this was a lovely touch. It's nice for us to see hotels that care for animals.
The staff is very helpful and arranged tours for us. Breakfast was very good and included. I'd give this place 5 stars but my mattress was very poor - had a spring pushing up on me all night. It's my only complaint - and maybe it's just that one bed. Who knows. Other than that - wonderful stay!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a very clean and beautiful Hotel.
The rooms are comfortable to spend the night, since you will be outdoors doing all the activities that Monteverde has to offer.
Staff is very helpful, and is a family owned hotel. They are available at all times to help in case you need something.
Hotel restaurant is very familiar. They cook and serve really good and tasteful food in every meal. I loved every meal in the hotel, lunch, breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alejandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good value! Close to the downtown, the service was great. They helped us get everything lined up for our trip... during our stay in Monteverde and off to Arenal. The breakfast was delicious too. I would recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kms S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nice clean hotel room with balcony on the second level - be able to carry your things up stairs if you are on the second floor. Great staff, willing to help you reserve tours or find restaurants. We felt safe and not too close to the "downtown" Santa Elena, but close enough to walk.

Room Tip: Upper rooms (we were in room 26) have a closed in balcony. You can open windows on it for air flow o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Fang7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Address: Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range: £38 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cipreses is a mountain & garden hotel, located just 5 minutes walk from the commercial center of the Monteverde Cloud Forest, the hotel provides various services such as: Breakfast, free Internet access, WiFi, hot water, local information, the hotel began as small businesses and increased by the increase of tourism in the area. In addition, the hotel is included in the list of ECO hotels, which is why we have different policies for reducing natural resources, solar panels, waste recycling, alternative lighting systems and water reusable for other purposes, far to be a mountain resort, we just try to be a total quality hotel environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing