We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Las Orquideas
Ranked #3 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene OR
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good B&B”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was a decent B&B. It was just outside Santa Elena which meant there wasn't any pedestrian traffic. It has a nice view and we even saw some wildlife from our window. It is right past the end of paved road which meant no unnecessary jolting getting to the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. By comparison to comparable places in Santa Elena it was pretty good. It was clean and warm.

There were a few down sides. One is that the walls were quite thin and we could clearly hear the family talking in the main lobby area. This made us feel less private and was less restful. Also, the toilet was straight up terrible. It barely flushed, and that only about every half hour or so. It would run noisily all the while. In utter fairness though every toilet I used in Monteverde/Santa Elena barely flushed so it may simply be a systemic thing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laclionaute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    73
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
60
112
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here around 2 weeks back for a day with my family visiting Monteverde. It is on the main road leading to St.Elena/Monteverde. Don't expect fancy 5 star hotel but a quaint well maintained small B&B. Very close to the town where you have various restaurants. The housekeeper was certainly warm and ensured that we had a big room for our family. The room looked like a attached house to the main building and was newly constructed. Our kids were excited with the bunk beds and we had a separate room. Very clean.
Early morning, we woke up and she had prepared a sumptuous breakfast with fruits, toast, my now fav Gallo Pinto and scrambled eggs. Awesome.

Roads to Monteverede are crappy but the people there are warm. Also it rains most of the time of the time but visit and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vsrinivasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We looked around quite a bit and saw the different options available at different price levels. We feel that for the money this was by far the best choice in Santa Elena or Monteverde. My room overlooked a gorgeous canyon on the edge of town which was nice because it was away from the hubbub of the town. Great nights stay, They accommodated my early need for a cup of coffee too.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We were at the hotel and they said that they had a vacant room. We told them that we would be back later on and take the room. When we came back, the owner wasn't here anymore and a cleaning lady told me that she had given the room to another person.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank caval-marii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Located adjacent to a beautiful valley, Las Orquideas is a homey small place with clean well maintained rooms and within a walking distance from the center of Santa Elena. Breakfast is rich and delicious. The place owner's hospitality and warmth are genuine. She has helped us arrange our tour in the area, and offered assistance which came very handy since we traveled with 3- year old twins. Although we've stayed in nice hotels during our stay in CR, this is the one I will mostly remember.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We walked the 500 or so metres from the bus stop on arrival and were warmly welcomed by the lovely Nadia (owner). From the moment we got there she was extremely helpful in recommending and booking local activities, of which there is an abundance.

We were given a choice of rooms and decided upon one in the main building with a view of the valley - we would've taken the massive family room on offer for the same price had it not been for the wi-fi access not working in that building.

Breakfast was included and was simple and tasty. Coffee, fruit bowl, eggs, hash brown, traditional rice & beans accompanied by fried plantain - a fitting combo to set you up for the day.

Nadia lent us her husbands charger on the first night and then went into town and bought us one to use the next day. She also took us to town one day to use the bank and dropped us off at the bus stop. Really made the whole stay feel like we had a personal service - very kind, genuinely helpful and mothering without being at all obtrusive.

We opted to get some beers in and play cards one night and used the large breakfast and kitchen area to do so. We also ended up leaving for San Jose one day earlier than our booking and Nadia was very understanding and did not even think of charging us despite it being after checkout time on the day!

Would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_erby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here on February 19th, 2013, for one night. We were given a warm welcome on arrival and given the choice of two rooms. The room we chose was large and actually had 4 beds. The property is located on one of the main roads into Santa Elena and beside a cliff overlooking a beautiful valley. There is a wrap-around veranda (and lookout) facing the valley. The property is less than a ten minute walk to the centre of town.

The service at Las Orquideas is excellent. Both employees (one of them being the owner) were extremely professional, friendly, and helpful. They provided much information about the local area and Costa Rica in general.

This was also a great place to practice your Spanish (but you can still by get with just English). In most places in the world people insist on communicating in English so this was a refreshing change.

The breakfast provided was very good.

If you do stay here, be aware that it is on the main road so during the day it can be a bit noisy; however, overnight it was quiet as the traffic died down.

Overall, we felt this property represented good value and we were happy with our decision to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanuckTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Orquideas

Property: Hotel Las Orquideas
Address: | 300 meters south of Santa Elena, frente a la Caballeriza el Rodeo, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Orquideas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Orquideas is owned and operated by a local Tico family that lived in U.S. for 29 years. We are located at the entrance of the Monteverde area, only 300 meters from the small town of Santa Elena, the commercial center of Monteverde, as you drive in from the Pan-American Highway. Here you will find unique, breathtaking views of the local waterfalls right out back with a private trail. The Tilaran mountain range where both, the Santa Elena and Monteverde Cloud Forest reserves are located, the Ecological Sanctuary, the San Luis Valley and the spectacular Gulf of Nicoya, all at one location. All rooms equipped with large windows to enjoy the beautiful scenery of Monteverde and the surrounding areas. We have two styles of rooms, rustic and modern. Beds are outfitted with therapeutic mattresses and hypo-allergenic sheets and comforters. Breakfasts are prepared and served right before your eyes. Come and visit us and feel like being on vacation in the comfort of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Orquideas Santa Elena
Las Orquideas Hotel Santa Elena
Hotel Las Orquideas Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing