We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Las Orquideas
Ranked #3 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great place. If you are staying just for a few days, this is a great alternative. 2 or 3 blocks of the town (Walking distance). Basic accommodations but enough for us (Family of 4). Includes breakfast. You feel like you are at home. Make sure you know there are only 2 or 3 places in the city that have a pool. The owner very friendly and flexible. My only complaint is that we stayed in a detached building so there was no WI-FI (In case is a necessity for you). Monteverde is a very small town anyway. I don’t recommend staying more than a couple of nights.

Carlos

Room Tip: The detached rooms are definitely bigger. In the one we stayed it was for 7 but we were 4. The one i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    73
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
59
109
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I loved the time with spent with owners Nidia and Dan and their responsive staff. The hotel is all wood and polish floors with a great deck for viewing birds and jungle. The healthy breakfasts were an unexpected delight as we enjoyed our morning feasts with other guests and heard of their adventures. My only regret is that I won't be at Las Orquideas this August-September when the Bellbirds descent en masse into the trees of Las Orquideas and deliver their resonant calls to all listeners. Nidia, our "hostess with the most-est," arranged a top-notch bird watching guide to show us the stunning birds of Monteverde. I highly recommend Las Orquideas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdenisebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Las Orchídeas is a small, personal hotel situated some 500 meters outside the tiny centre of Santa Elena. It is easy to walk into town. The hotel is situated on the brim of the deep canyon, with wild nature just outside the window - and with visiting coatis and whitefaced monkeys! We received very good service and got many a good (as it turned out) advice from Nidia, the owner and hostess of the hotel. She also took time to sit with us and tell us many interesting things - and she helped us organise whatever excursions and trips we wanted to make.
Breakfast was good and big, the hotel was clean and nice, and beds were comfortable. We had some very good days here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mia_melin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chittenden, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

What a warm welcome my family and I received at Las Qrquideas! The delightful owner Nidia greeted me by name at the door, gave us a tour of our family suite and the hotel property, and provided wonderful suggestions and personal connections that added so much to our visit to the area. She is a gem. Our early morning coffee and breakfasts were fresh and delicious, served in the charming little dining area. Wish we were there right now!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I strongly recommend this hotel. Very clean. Good breakfast. The owner of the hotel is such a wonderful lady. She is honest and warm-hearted. I had cough there. She gave me some tonic and I was cured and able to sleep well last night. She also gave me very honest suggestions about what to see and where to eat. You won't regret for staying there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalieyanyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very clean hotel, hard to believe, with all the dust from the road outside ;))
Nidia, the owner, was very helpful with all the questions we had.
I loved all the coatis outside on the balcony, so cute. They feed them bananas and they loved it :))
Thanks for a nice time in your unique hotel :))

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed in Las Orquideas for 2 nights between 3/11-3/13/14 while we visited Monteverde. It was so much better than the overpriced tourist traps we stayed in before (Arenal) and after (Manuel Antonio). Like everyone said, Nidia is just wonderful. The tour/restaurant recommendations are spot on; yes she’s lived in the US for 3 decades, but fellow travelers from Germany and UK loved her just the same. The cleanliness of the place is unbelievable, no dust though it’s right by the road, and the internet is very fast. The local ladies that cook breakfast are just so kind as well, they feed the Coatis (raccoon like animals) outside of the kitchen door which is hilarious.

If you go visit Nidia and use Google Maps, please know that it’s WRONG! Google maps show the hotel almost near Monteverde national park far east of the town of Santa Elena; instead the hotel is south of the town of Santa Elena on route 606. We emailed Google to fix it but it’s still wrong on 3/21/14.

Anyway, go visit Nidia, enjoy Monteverde, and have fun!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert_Z_Fu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.8 mi away
El Establo
El Establo
#11 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Orquideas

Property: Hotel Las Orquideas
Address: | 300 meters south of Santa Elena, frente a la Caballeriza el Rodeo, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Orquideas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Orquideas is owned and operated by a local Tico family that lived in U.S. for 29 years. We are located at the entrance of the Monteverde area, only 300 meters from the small town of Santa Elena, the commercial center of Monteverde, as you drive in from the Pan-American Highway. Here you will find unique, breathtaking views of the local waterfalls right out back with a private trail. The Tilaran mountain range where both, the Santa Elena and Monteverde Cloud Forest reserves are located, the Ecological Sanctuary, the San Luis Valley and the spectacular Gulf of Nicoya, all at one location. All rooms equipped with large windows to enjoy the beautiful scenery of Monteverde and the surrounding areas. We have two styles of rooms, rustic and modern. Beds are outfitted with therapeutic mattresses and hypo-allergenic sheets and comforters. Breakfasts are prepared and served right before your eyes. Come and visit us and feel like being on vacation in the comfort of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Orquideas Santa Elena
Las Orquideas Hotel Santa Elena
Hotel Las Orquideas Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing