We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A great hostel with a good atmosphere. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and had a lot of local knowledge of the area. The breakfast was very good (homemade banana bread, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and coffee). Very close to town, we were able to walk everywhere. We were very happy staying here.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Felipe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Casa Tranquilo was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The place is clean and affordable. The family that owns it are really nice! They will help you choose from all the things to do in the area and let you in on local secrets. They provided fruit for breakfast like a fresh papaya from their own tree! There was lots of food left by other travelers so we took some and left some. We had an awesome time in this town and it was even more special because of his hostel and the family that runs it. Thanks David amd family for being so great!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneHelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Lovely little place with private rooms and bathrooms, well maintained furniture and appliances, clean bathrooms and friendly staff. Fully equipped kitchen very useful for making own meals. Breakfast foods provided in the morning for cooking.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabellepz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Casa Tranquilo was my favorite lodging in Costa Rica, and we ended up staying longer than we planned to. The owner is very helpful - his English is good and he will share everything he knows about the area. The room we stayed in was rustic and cozy, and the shared bathroom was not bad, though toilet paper ran out often. In the kitchen there is a board with tours that you can book from the hostel for a discount. This was very helpful and allowed travelers to be independent and pick activities a la carte. The only negative I can think of is that most rooms face the street and when people drive by without mufflers or dogs get in fights (both happen often) it is so loud! Other than that, you make your own breakfast in the morning with ingredients laid out, and the supermarket is so close! You can save money if you choose to cook. It is the best value for your money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gypsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Even I was not able to stay at this hostel as they were fully booked. I found the family running this hostel extremely friendly and helpful to help me to make my stay in Santa Elena great. They explain to me and suggested free activities and offered my gray tours for highly competitive rates.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank duhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My bf and I rented a car and it wasn't hard to find the place. Easy check-in for our double private room: simple and clean, but we felt a draft in a corner or two of the room. It was very windy outside at night and the loose shutters and loud noises overnight made it a little difficult for a good night's rest. Kitchen facilities were plentiful; it said they offered free breakfast but there was no "free" breakfast out at around 8am... Who knows.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveantoinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed at the Casa Tranquilo on a backpacking trip to Costa Rica in december 2012 with a friend. The staff is super friendly and helpful and they speak english. Rooms are very clean for this type of establishment, and they have some rooms with private bathroom for really low prices. Ask for their free tours of Monteverde : one of the staff members will show you around. They know the area and will take you to places you would never find if you just wandered by yourself, and it will only cost you whatever tip you decide to leave at the end of the day. There is also a communal kitchen so you can cook your own meals for cheap (supermarket is less than 5 minutes away on foot). It's not far from the Monteverde "commercial" area with all the restaurants and shops. All in all, a very positive experience and quite probably the nicest hostel I've seen during my stay in Costa Rica.

5/5, I will visit again if I ever return to Monteverde.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 33 in Santa Elena
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Jaguarundi Lodge
Jaguarundi Lodge
#2 of 3 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: £13 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Tranquilo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing