We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place, excellent Breakfast, great Host!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cool place, excellent Breakfast, great Host!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We found your hostel very comfortable & spacious, clean with hot showers and the host was extremely helpful & genuine. The (free) breakfast was a perfect way to start to the day. Fresh fruit and eggs. While the warm banana bread complimented the best coffee (no exaggeration!) I've had in my 4 days in Costa Rica. With your dogs roaming around, we felt almost at home for those two enjoyable days in Mondeverde.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    84
    33
    18
    20
See reviews for
18
122
73
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A simple but very cosy hostel with two very friendly owners. The beds are good, it is clean everywhere and the (included) breakfast is very good. Homemade Banana-bread with scrambled eggs and some fruit. From the hostel you can walk to the supermarket and restaurants in 4 minutes and the owners give you advise with every question. It feels like home!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolke-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

By chance we saw this place through the bus window and hopped off right outside - lucky we did!
Really cosy rooms and perfectly located near all the local stores, restaurants and sights. Has everything you need (kitchen, hot shower, best breakfast and local coffee) plus the owner David & family is super cool and can help you organise any day trips or sightseeing nearby... They also have 2 adorable dogs that we wanted to kidnap. Muy tranquilo!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I came here at night in heavy rain, planned to stay two nights, stayed one week. Great friendly hostel, beautiful rooms, super pleasant beds, the best free breakfast in Costa Rica. Owner David speaks perfect English, is friendly and helpful in everything and does not "sell" you anything, although he offers the standard local attractions with discount.

And ... the best thing is the building. The first floor, where the dorm and most rooms are, is made from wood, which makes it extremely pleasant. The rooms have good daily light thanks to the fact that the roof is made from transparent plastic, so although you don't see the stars through it at night, it gives you daylight during the day. The shower is amazing - the floor in the bath is made from stone. When you stand on it and shower with hot water after trekking all day in the cloud forest, the stone is perfect! There are some moths flying through the corridor, which is not irritating and it gives you even more the feeling of staying somewhere in the nature. This morning, there was a giant grasshopper walking on the bookcase, Amazing! And it was the cheapest hostel during my journey through Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The hostel is next to the street, but if you are not a light sleeper and don't mind some cars go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unprepared_franta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have not had much experience in hostels, but I loved this place!! Clean, hot shower, great prices and fantastic staff! Breakfast was fast and the service was personal. They also have a communal kitchen, if you are into making your own food. Staff gave us local information about great restaurants, tours, sights to see and recommended a great place to stay on our next stop in Costa Rica. From the moment we met David, I felt like I was meeting an old friend. Casa Traquilo felt like home and I look forward to my next trip to Monteverde so I can stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Owner at Casa Tranquilo Hostel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi, thanks so much for your nice comments, we are very happy you felt so good at our place. We are working hard everyday and these nice comments motivate us to keep going...

Thanks Again
David, Lidia, Josue y baby Gael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

we got the adress from 2 travellers who we met in Oasis Granada. We did not make a reservation. I would not suggest this because it was full by the and of the day and it is not even high season

The place is realy nice, very tranquilo!. The owners are very nice and give you many tips for trips including free trips!
the price includes free breakfast (fruit, egg, bananabread (kind of cake) and coffee or tea)
there is also a kitchen to use

and the day we arrived their it was just in the tree next door a sloth

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familykebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A great hostel with a good atmosphere. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and had a lot of local knowledge of the area. The breakfast was very good (homemade banana bread, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and coffee). Very close to town, we were able to walk everywhere. We were very happy staying here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 22 in Monteverde
218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 22 in Monteverde
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Property: Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing