We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hostel in Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Hosts were great, the rooms were quiet, the view was fantastic. Very decent breakfast (w/ great coffee). Great porch to chill on. Dirt cheap prices. No complaints whatsoever. This hostel is a great place to relax.
This was also one of the few places in Costa Rica that I found the wifi to be fairly respectable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Casa Tranquilo Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Low budget, but very nice hostel. The rooms have a sort of tree-house feel to them. A little loud with the wind and the road, but very comfortable. The breakfast is great, especially the banana bread! Very, very helpful staff and a good location. Overall would highly recommend Casa Tranquilo!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jangsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed at Casa Tranquilo hostel in Santa Elena for two nights. It was only a short walk from the main street of town. The supermarket, restaurants and shops are very close. There is a sloth that lives in the area. The locals can usually pinpoint where she is. Natasha at the front desk gave us all the information we needed and had the answers to all of our questions. She was amazingly helpful.

My room was a mere $25/night. It was roomy and had three large windows and a large bathroom with hot water. There were two chairs, two small end tables and several hooks on the walls. You could see hummingbirds and parrots out the windows. The bed had enough bedding and blankets to keep me warm as the nights are rather chilly in Santa Elena due to the higher elevation. The mattress was wonderful. Very comfortable.

There is free Wi-Fi. Breakfast is provided and includes some really wonderful banana bread. It was a great way to start my day. There is also a small communal kitchen with an eating area and an upstairs enclosed sitting room with a couch, books and magazines.

They only complaint I have is there is a vague sewer type odor if you leave the bathroom door open to the room. Shut the door and the window in the bathroom ventilated it enough so it didn't smell. Not really a problem.

The staff really was helpful. They easily reserved spots on tours, call taxis and helped with bus schedules. I had a great time in the area and it was wonderful to have a nice base to call 'home'.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Traversecity4961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great hostel, stuff really nice and helpful,good breakfast.. Good price. Everything that you need you can find there. There is a kitchen so you can cook.
And one more word about the stuff they try to help you , not to sell stuff, and they always try to give student discounts for the activities .
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yonatanz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend this hostel. It's really cheap, well located and pretty clean. The free breakfast is just amazing and delicious. If you don't want to spend much money in Monteverde, go for this choice. They give you a lot of good advices for all the activities in the region... :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bogen200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I could not have found a better place than Casa Tranquilo for my stay in Santa Elena.
Hostel is very charming, colorful, quiet even when it's full, comfy, with a very good wifi connection and in a perfect location close to everything.
Price includes an amazing home made beakfast. It is not only delicious, it is nicely plated and portion is big.
And what I loved even more it's you guys! Thanks David, Lee, Esteban and Ro. I felt like beeing part of your hostel family. You are very welcoming, open minded, patient and so helpful with anything.
I'll definitely recommend Casa Tranquilo to all my traveller friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Really great value, rooms were excellent and lovely chill-out area and kitchen.

Excellent breakfast, especially the banana bread, and free tea and coffee was great. The owner Ro was super helpful and a lovely guy. Get them to show you where to find the Ficus tree and climb it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RobDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 33 in Santa Elena
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jaguarundi Lodge
Jaguarundi Lodge
#2 of 3 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Cabinas Eddy B&B
#6 of 33 in Santa Elena
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: £7 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing