We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am spoiled by Rustic Lodge & Monteverde”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I am so glad that GECKO Travel made reservations at the Rustic Lodge.
It was a great stay, so much so, that I almost requested GECKO to cancel my next point of stay to remein in Sant Elena.
Truly, very accomodating group of people and the restaurant across from the soccer field down the hill was excellent..
Am hoping to return to Monteverde and Rustic Lodge next year.
Recommended to others along my journey in Costa Rica.
Such great caring and conscientious folks at Rustic Lodge.
Pura vida, is truly there mantra.
It is a little know gem in the mountains.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Has a massage room for relaxing from the travels.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
There are newer reviews for Monteverde Rustic Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a great place to stay, it was the best one we stayed in throughout the trip. The pictures actually don't do it justice, the place is not that rustic and is well kept. The front desk Maurizio was the friendliest guy. He was very attentive and helpful. The room we got was enormous as was the bathroom. Everything is really new and you have a great view if you're on the top floor. Town is about 15 mins walk downhill one way and big uphill another. There's a great restaurant a little hill below. Definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

stayed at this convenient lodge and had a great time. the hosts were amazing and made sure we were taken care of all trip. Jose arranged transportation, ziplining, and great food. definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Jose was an absolutely wonderful host and this was a great place to stay. Costa Rican fruit is a delight for breakfast and he brings in the sweetest organic bananas from the family farm--yum! We had scheduled a horseback ride, but because of the rain and the recent earthquake, some of the trails were out. They were on the ball and checked in with Marvin, who has the horses, and helped us arrange for other activities at the last minute.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Anyone who has been to Monteverde understands its a bumpy ride, to say the least. It was great to end up at a comforting hotel with a great manager. He actually hooked us up with some free wine, helped set us up with some activities and answered every question we could ask. You could tell he was very sincere and wanted people to enjoy the country and the city. The rooms are huge and the bathrooms were great. Couldnt ask for more with the price they give. Excellent choice!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a great little property that is very well kept. You can tell the owner has pride as the fine details of the room such as finishing original woodwork were immaculate. Staying here reminds me of staying in a log cabin back home in Canada as it was a very warm and welcoming environment. Everything was extremely clean and well kept. Its got a motel format setup, so your room leads directly outside into the Garden area - which was also very well kept.

We were only there for one night and since we were leaving early the next morning, Jose, the owner ensured we had some packed breakfasts for the long ride back to San Jose. The roads leading into and out of Santa Elena (Monteverde) are all dirt roads, so expect a long jarring ride in any direction.

The town is about a 10 min walk down the hill (quite steep) and probably a 15 min walk back depending on the pace. The town is tiny, and they also have a taxi stand in the middle of downtown, which will cost you around $2 to get you home. If you are going for dinner downtown, its worth it to walk down and cab it back.

Lots of stray dogs around, be wary of showing any affection, otherwise they will follow you home!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank biomase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Friends recommended the Monteverde Rustic Lodge to us, and we are grateful to have found this great lodge! We stayed in this quaint town for three days. Jose at the Rustic Lodge helped make our family vacation one of our best ever. He arranged an early-morning rainforest tour that included white-faced monkeys, a night tour that allowed us to spot various primates and arachnids, and a very nice evening dinner. Breakfast was delicious. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.9 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Rustic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Address: 800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: £49 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Rustic Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Monteverde Rustic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Rustic Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Rustic Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing