We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,143)
Filter reviews
1,143 results
Traveller rating
861
241
36
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
861
241
36
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis brotherpancakessabor ticocosta ricathe ownerwooden furniturefruitsoccer fieldgreat place to stayevery morningcloud forestbreakfast was deliciousla fortunadowntown santa elenarooms are basicthin wallsnight hike
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 1,143 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had a great stay here while in Monteverde. Jose was always more than happy to help us and even made us fresh coffee any time of day. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is great - a short walk into Santa Elena but a little out of the town, so it's quiet. Would definitely recommend Rustic Lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieW1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Great value, the room was small but ok for 2 people for a few night and ok for 3 people for a couple of nights I guess.
Super clean too.
The location is convenient, the breakfast is good and the staff will take the time to share with you all the good stuff to do around there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clement R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My husband, parents, and I enjoyed staying at the Rustic Lodge for three nights. The premises were very clean and the service, impeccable. The single room is small, but do-able for a couple. Jose is incredibly gracious, prompt with e-mail communication, and does everything he can to make your stay comfortable. The best part was Joe (and his staff's) assistance with booking tours and activities. If you've never been to Costa Rica, you're in good hands with Jose, since he knows many of the tour operators and can book activities for you while you are in Monteverde. If he says you can wait until you arrive to book your activities, he means it. Just have a general idea of the things you want to do.

As for transportation, Jose can arrange a pick-up for you from San Jose Airport if you'd like. It cost us $150/one-way, plus tip.

Here's what we did during our 3-day, 3-night stay, all of which were coordinated through Jose: The Original Canopy Tour, guided tour of the Monteverde Biological Cloud Forest Reserve (through Esteban Mendez Vargas ($17 entrance fee + $17 tour fee + tip), mendezguia@hotmail.com), horseback riding & hot spring ($35/person), orchid garden ($11?), butterfly/frog pond/preserve ($13?), snake preserve/museum, Don Juan Coffee/Chocolate Tour..... Jose is familiar with all of these. Don't quote me on the prices.

There are restaurants within walking distance of the Lodge. The best priced restaurant for the quality was Sabor Tico. We ate there three times. The casado entrees are the best in my opinion. The fried taco was hard.

Make sure to bring plenty of cash. While many tours take credit, you'll need cash for taxis and activities that only take cash. Also, San Juan airport charges a $35 exit fee/person, which can be paid by card.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wellesley05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and felt totally comfortable here. The rooms are very nice, good price-value. Jose and his team take their time for individual information and advice and are very supportive. According to your preferences they give you advise regarding tours, excursions on your own, places to see, restaurants and so on. Breakfast is good. Overall totally recommendable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We recently stayed two nights as the Rustic Lodge. The rooms are simple and very well maintained. I loved all the word work at the lodge and its surroundings, including a sloth in a tree on the property. What really makes this place outstanding the owner and staff. Jose and Ernesto were very welcoming and were able to set us up on some tours with great guides as well as ziplining. They also had great restaurant recommendations. The breakfast each morning was really tasty. Just a really nice, welcoming place. If we ever have the opportunity to go back to this area I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimbapete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews