We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The people in Monteverde are exceptionally friendly and courteous. This is also the treatment that you receive at the Rustic Lodge. Upon your arrival you are greeted as a friend and treated consequently as such during your stay. The rooms a clean and comfortable. The property is full of artisanal wood furniture and objects (some for sale), that give the place a special feel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
There are newer reviews for Monteverde Rustic Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Jose and Marcelo are the best people running a wonderful lodge in the quaint town of Santa Elena in Monteverde. It is a little piece of paradise and we were so lucky to have the chance to enjoy their place! As previous reviews, as soon as we arrived they came to our help and took our bags to our beautiful and large room with a very nice large bath. The place is impecable and the owners take pride in cleaning and maintaining every piece of the gorgeous lodge and all the beautiful wood. The breakfast is very fresh and delicious! Jose and Marcelo were always available to help us book tours or give us advice on where to eat or where to go... They even took care of me while I was suffering from a terrible cold and they prepared some excellent natural medicine to help me with an awful caugh. Thank you so much Jose and Marcelo! Also, they have the cuttest little spa area, a super clean and peaceful room overlooking a quiet area of their amazing gardens, with an excellent massage expert! We got the couples massage and we also recommend to take advantage of this service! We are recommending Rustic Lodge in Monteverde to everyone we know and to all the people we met along the way in Costa Rica! We would definitely stay here again. Thank you again Jose and Marcelo.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room towards the back of the property since they are quieter than the front rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana-Santorini099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and under 2 years daughter traveled to Costa Rica and we stayed 2 nights at this lodge. This Lodge is ran by Jose and Marcelo who are brothers. As soon as we arrived he came to helps us with our luggage and took us to our room. He gave us a bigger room for the same price since we has a toddler. Breakfast was good and it was served by either Jose or Marcelo or both. They were really nice and they are always available for any questions we had about food, attractions, etc. The place is beautiful inside and it is very clean, you can tell that is is a family business cause they care about their guests. I would totally recommend this place.
Location wise is not that far from "downtown" which is only 3 blocks in triangle shape.
BTW, breakfast is included in the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southamericandude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and under 2 years daughter traveled to Costa Rica and we stayed 2 nights at this lodge. This Lodge is ran by Jose and Marcelo who are brothers. As soon as we arrived he came to helps us with our luggage and took us to our room. He gave us a bigger room for the same price since we has a toddler. Breakfast was good and it was served by either Jose or Marcelo or both. They were really nice and they are always available for any questions we had about food, attractions, etc. The place is beautiful inside and it is very clean, you can tell that is is a family business cause they care about their guests. I would totally recommend this place.
Location wise is not that far from "downtown" which is only 3 blocks in triangle shape.
BTW, breakfast is included in the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southamericandude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Loved this place! It was suggested by another local hotel owner I had contacted who didn't have space. The rooms were very clean and nice and the location was very central to the many tours and areas we wanted to see.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a cash deal.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaleyFiege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We recommend this hotel. The staff is very friendly and they offer the best coffee in Costa Rica. We enjoyed the tour with Christian who showed us the wildlife in the Monteverde cloud forest. Very interesting! To get there isnt't too easy, the road is very bad.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sepp999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was a great place to stay! Not really knowing what to expect, we were a little surprised that there was no TV, but really- we were on vacation to relax and get away from everything, so in the end we didn't even miss it (and besides, they had Wi-Fi so you could still be connected to the world if you want)

Anyways, the room was beautiful- very spacious and clean. Our room was in a separate building from the main lodge- and had a nice patio entrance- with a nice area to sit outside and enjoy the view. The lodge itself was beautiful. There were so many plants and trees around, that you would never know you were in town- it felt so private. The breakfast was good, but what I think really put them over the top was the wonderful service. Both the owners, Jose & Marcello, were so welcoming, they really know how to make you feel at home. We had some ideas of what we wanted to do while in Monteverde, and they were just great at giving us additional suggestions, and even arranging transportation to a couple of the attractions that we wanted to see (such as the coffee tour & Selvatura).

Getting to Monteverde was somewhat difficult (we got a little lost), but once in town, the lodge was pretty easy to find. It is just outside of town.. but it is a quick & easy drive to get into town, you could even walk there. And even with that, there is a small restaurant right near the Lodge that has really good food at reasonable prices

If we ever come back to this area, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: No tips for this, but I liked the fact that our room had a main area with a queen bed, then a smalle...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.9 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Rustic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Address: 800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: £49 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Rustic Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Monteverde Rustic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Rustic Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Rustic Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing